Pin It

CD Review: Rebecca Martin 

click to enlarge Sunnyside Records, 2008
  • Sunnyside Records, 2008

Rebecca Martin didn’t come to New York in 1990 carved out as a jazz singer. She came as a singer filled with stories from a lifetime spent with others marked with pain and patience and sometimes sensuous joy. The Growing Season was produced at engineer Paul Antonell’s Clubhouse studio in Rhinebeck and contains 13 compositions that dote upon existential themes and recapturing what’s already present within us.

Like ice-coated branches on a shivery winter’s day, Martin’s voice glistens and crackles on each tune. Her plaintive message in “To Prove Them Wrong” reassures us of our intrinsic strength and wisdom that waits to be called upon. In “After Midnight” we hear the haunted and remorseful thoughts of a soldier after resettling home; thoughts that bring him back to the battlefield. Martin counsels those holding in the best part of themselves during “Free At Last”: If given just a “little bit of time,” would you give back what you’d taken? It’s a piercing question that sharply snaps back at you. For this fourth release under her name, she chose a road-tested band—guitarist and keyboardist Kurt Rosenwinkel, who produced the album; drummer Brian Blade; and her husband, bassist Larry Grenadier. They’re all masterful at creating symbiotic relationships with whomever they’re playing with.

RhAuthor Salman Rushdie poses the question: “Why do we care about singers? Wherein lies the power of songs?” About Martin, Antonell says: “She’s got real songs.”

Speaking of...

  • Review of Rebecca Martin's fourth CD release "The Growing Season"


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

  • CD Review: Christine Spero's "Spero Plays Nyro"

    Why and how dare she devote an entire album to songs by Laura Nyro when we can just listen to the originals on Spotify? I'll tell you why. Because Christine Spero fully inhabits these songs, uncovers hidden nuances, and with her stunning ensemble—including drummer Peter O'Brien, bassist Scott Petito, saxophonist Elliot Spero, and Christine's own magic hands on the ivories.
    • Aug 1, 2015
  • Soul Clap at BSP Kingston

    Dance the night away with DJ Jonathan Toubin's groovy tunes at BSP Kingston on February 13th at 10 pm.
    • Feb 1, 2016

Hudson Valley Events

submit event

Latest in Music

  • Art of Business: Bardavon
  • Art of Business: Bardavon

    See a show at the Bardavon this season. You won't be disappointed.
    • Jan 1, 2017
  • Turning the Turntables
  • Turning the Turntables

    This month, we once again ring in the new year with a specially selected panel of Hudson Valley music mavens, who run down their top releases of 2016 and talk current crushes and future faves along the way.
    • Jan 1, 2017
  • Nightlife Highlights: Kris Kristofferson
  • Nightlife Highlights: Kris Kristofferson

    Handpicked by music editor Peter Aaron for your listening pleasure.
    • Jan 1, 2017
  • More »

Related to Music

  • Opera in Phoenicia Park
  • Opera in Phoenicia Park

    With its open-air format, where attendees picnic in the parks and watch the stars emerge during performances, and its $5 youth tickets, the Phoenicia International Festival of the Voice is the perfect place to share with children a love of music and theater, in a variety of styles.
    • Jul 25, 2016
  • More »

More by Cheryl K. Symister-Masterson

  • CD Review: Honey Ear Trio

    Cheryl K. Symister-Masterson reviews Honey Ear Trio's album "Steampunk Serenade."
    • Dec 29, 2011
  • CD Review: Michelle LeBlanc

    Cheryl K. Symister-Masterson reviews Michelle LeBlanc's album "I Remember You"
    • Nov 30, 2011
  • CD Review: David Rothenberg and Lewis Porter

    Cheryl K. Symister-Masterson reviews David Rothenberg and Lewis Porter's new album "Expulsion of the Triumphant Beast."
    • Oct 28, 2011
  • More »

Hudson Valley Tweets