Your Best Cold/Flu Ally? Mushrooms! | Daily Dose

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Your Best Cold/Flu Ally? Mushrooms!

Posted By on Tue, Nov 27, 2012 at 12:44 PM

shiitake mushrooms - BIGSTOCK.COM
  • Bigstock.com
  • shiitake mushrooms


Move over, Echinacea. A new herbal remedy for cold and flu season has made its debut. The mighty mushroom is raising its rounded head as a powerful health defender against the viral blues. “There are some good studies about mushrooms as another way, another angle, to boost the immune system,” says Lauren Vigna, MD, a family practice physician in Highland who has been known to prescribe fungi to cold-prone patients.

Not just any mushrooms, but shiitake, maitake, and reishi top Vigna’s list of immune-stimulating allies. To get the highest concentration of these mushrooms’ healthful beta-glucans, ingest them as supplements. Herb Pharm sells mushroom tinctures, while New Chapter has formulated a capsule for immune system defense.

“Here’s a wacky fact,” says Vigna. “Mushrooms have about 90 percent the same DNA as humans.” Who knew we had so much in common with fungi? The correlation has led to a wave of exciting new research about mushrooms for not just cold and flu defense but also infection prevention and cancer therapy. So the next time you have a scratchy throat, see what the once-lowly toadstool can do for you.

Image of shiitake mushrooms courtesy of Bigstock.com

  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Adult Ceramics Class: All Levels @ Kingston Ceramics Studio

Adult Ceramics Class: All Levels

Tuesdays, Wednesdays, 6-8 p.m. and Thursdays-Saturdays, 10 a.m.-12 p.m. Continues through Dec. 31 — We offer ongoing weekly ceramics classes to adults at all levels of...
Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults @ Art Omi

Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults

Wed., Sept. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 3, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 10, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 17, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 24, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 31, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 14, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 21, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 28, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 5, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 12, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 2, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 9, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 16, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 23, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 30, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 27, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 27, 5-6:30 p.m. and Wed., April 3, 5-6:30 p.m. — This weekly drawing group offers time and space for individuals who wish...

View all of today's events

Current Issue

December 1-31, 2018
Issue Cover