The Big Latch On | Daily Dose

Monday, July 28, 2014

The Big Latch On

Posted By on Mon, Jul 28, 2014 at 9:00 AM

NEW BABY NEW PALTZ
  • New Baby New Paltz

Here's an event that is not fun for the whole family. To commemorate the kick off of World Breastfeeding Week, New Baby New Paltz will be hosting the Big Latch On, an event dedicated to raising awareness about breastfeeding. The Big Latch On is observed around the world at designated sites, New Baby New Paltz is the official site for the Hudson Valley, at 10:30 am local time, participating mothers around the world will latch their little ones in order to promote breastfeeding in the community.

While the Big Latch On takes place worldwide, the events are only loosely connected. Instead, much of the organization happens at the local level, allowing organizers to tailor the event to their region. For the event all participating women and children are latched on for one minute at the set time and are then counted by the witnesses. The goal, when the final tally from all the events are counted, is to break last year's worldwide record of 14,536. For more information, check their website.

  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Thursday Night Jazz Jams @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Thursday Night Jazz Jams

Thu., Feb. 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 7, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 4, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 11, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 18, 6-7:30 p.m. and Thu., April 25, 6-7:30 p.m. — Play standards from the Real Book and beyond, refine your improvisation skills,...
FoodSTEAM Workshop with the Bard CCE: Exploring the Science of Food through the Arts @ Tivoli Free Library

FoodSTEAM Workshop with the Bard CCE: Exploring the Science of Food through the Arts

Thu., April 4, 4-5 p.m., Thu., April 11, 4-5 p.m. and Thu., April 18, 4-5 p.m. — Come join us and The Bard Center for Civic Engagement in exciting...

View all of today's events

Current Issue

April 1-30, 2019
Issue Cover