Classics of Italian Cinema with Prof. Joseph Luzzi | Daily Dose

Friday, September 26, 2014

Classics of Italian Cinema with Prof. Joseph Luzzi

Posted By on Fri, Sep 26, 2014 at 4:00 AM

Prof. Joseph Luzzi
  • Prof. Joseph Luzzi

Italian film buff, professor, and author Joseph Luzzi will present an excursion into classic Italian cinema, showing the greatest works ever to appear on the Italian screen, clips from masterpieces by Federico Fellini, Michelangelo Antonioni, Roberto Rossellinim and others on September 28 at 1:30pm at Upstate Films in Rhinebeck. The discussion will be followed by a reception at Market Street and includes a complimentary glass of wine and hors d'ouevres ($20), or for $35, you get a copy of Luzzi's recent memoir, My Two Italies (Farrar, Straus and Giroux). Visit Upstate Films for more details.

A frequent contributor of essays and reviews to publications including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Bookforum, the London Times Literary Supplement, Luzzi is the author of the forthcoming A Cinema of Poetry: Aesthetics of the Italian Art Film (Johns Hopkins Univ. Press, 2014).

  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Painting the Portrait with Andrew Lattimore @ Andrew Lattimore Fine Art Studio

Painting the Portrait with Andrew Lattimore

Wednesdays, 1-4 p.m. Continues through Dec. 31 — In this class, students will focus on painting the portrait from life....
Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults @ Art Omi

Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults

Wed., Sept. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 3, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 10, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 17, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 24, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 31, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 14, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 21, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 28, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 5, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 12, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 2, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 9, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 16, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 23, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 30, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 27, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 27, 5-6:30 p.m. and Wed., April 3, 5-6:30 p.m. — This weekly drawing group offers time and space for individuals who wish...

View all of today's events

Current Issue

February 1-28, 2019
Issue Cover