Rex Fowler Presents Elvis Film in Beacon | Daily Dose

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Rex Fowler Presents Elvis Film in Beacon

Posted By on Tue, Dec 30, 2014 at 9:00 AM

Rex Fowler
  • Rex Fowler

Upstater Rex Fowler is one half of the venerated folk rock duo Aztec Two Step, an outfit that’s been a firm favorite of the coffeehouse and folk festival circuit since forming in 1971. And now Fowler’s added another role to his creative endeavors, that of a filmmaker. Recently, he completed work on 200 Cadillacs, a feature-length documentary focusing on Elvis Presley that screens next week as part of celebration of his 80th birthday at the Towne Crier.

Conceived and co-produced by Fowler, 200 Cadillacs showcases the often forgotten generosity of Presley, one of the biggest pop culture icons of the 20th century. Following the film, the director will lead a Q&A session. The evening will conclude with a live concert of the King’s early Sun and RCA records classics performed by Rex and his Rockabilly Kings, who are comprised of Fowler and Hudson Valley favorites Billy and Muddy Roues on electric guitar and slap-back bass and Joe Geary of the Wiyos on drums. The venue will also offer some special “Eat Like Elvis” selections on the evening’s menu.

Watch this trailer:
http://vimeo.com/89103320

The event takes place at the Towne Crier in Beacon on January 8 at 7:30pm. Tickets are $20. For more information, call (845) 855-1300 or visit http://www.townecrier.com/.

  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley

Mon., Feb. 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 1, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 8, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 15, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 6, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 13, 5:45-7 p.m. and Mon., May 20, 5:45-7 p.m. — 1st and 3rd Mondays: Teen Songwriting Meet-Up, 5:45-7pm, $28 per person 2nd...

View all of today's events

Top Commenters

Current Issue

March 1-31, 2019
Issue Cover