"Woody Guthrie's American Song" | Daily Dose

Wednesday, August 5, 2015

"Woody Guthrie's American Song"

Posted By on Wed, Aug 5, 2015 at 4:00 AM

woody_guthrie1.jpg

A giant of American mythology, the wayfaring folk singer Woody Guthrie spread his nation-defining songs across the country at the height of the Great Depression. Songs like “This Land is Your Land,” “Bound for Glory,” and “Nine-Hundred Miles” have imbued themselves into American cultural consciousness permanently.

From August 7 to 30, Shadowland Theater will pay tribute to the folk-singing vagabond with “Woody Guthrie’s American Song,” a musical chronicling Guthrie’s travels through America during the Great Depression’s peak. The musical opened in 1989 to rave reviews, the New York Times said it “manages to find both the high beauty and the earthly humor of Guthrie's love affair with America.”

Audiences will travel the United States with Guthrie as he fights for unions, hops trains, and witnesses the tragic inequality that his countrymen faced during the Great Depression. Featured in the cast are Kendra Jo Brook, Craig MacDonald, Jennie Malone, Sean Powell, and Ian Brodsky.

The show runs August 7 - 30 at the newly renovated theatre in Ellenville. Regular ticket prices are $39 Thursdays-Saturdays, $34 on Sundays. Show times are 8pm on Thursdays – Saturdays and Sundays at 2pm. There is a special additional performance at 2pm on Saturday, August 8 at 2pm, during Ellenville’s famous Blueberry Festival.

  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley

Mon., Feb. 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 1, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 8, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 15, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 6, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 13, 5:45-7 p.m. and Mon., May 20, 5:45-7 p.m. — 1st and 3rd Mondays: Teen Songwriting Meet-Up, 5:45-7pm, $28 per person 2nd...

View all of today's events

Current Issue

February 1-28, 2019
Issue Cover