Harvey Sorgen and Quartet Perform in Beacon | Daily Dose

Thursday, September 1, 2016

Harvey Sorgen and Quartet Perform in Beacon

Posted By on Thu, Sep 1, 2016 at 9:00 AM

Harvey Sorgen
  • Harvey Sorgen

Many listeners know local drummer Harvey Sorgen via his longstanding, high-profile gig with classic blues rockers Hot Tuna. But it’s in the world of jazz and creative improvisation that the incredible percussionist is most active, and it’s that world he’ll explore on September 25 when he performs with pianist Marilyn Crispell, bassist Ken Filiano, and saxophonist Esa Pietila at Saint Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Beacon.

The list of names Sorgen has worked with is head-spinning: Ahmad Jamal, Paul Simon, Michelle Shocked, Levon Helm, Joe McPhee, Tony Levin, Julius Hemphill, Dewey Redman, Bruce Hornsby, Carlos Santana, Phil Lesh, Gregg Allman, Anthony Braxton, Garth Hudson, David Torn, Karl Berger, and on and on. “The last time Marilyn and I played together here in the Hudson Valley was four years ago, a very special night,” says Sorgen. “Esa is a tenor player I’ve been working with more and more in Finland and around Europe. Steve Ventura from [Beacon club] Quinn’s is promoting this show and hoping to make Saint Andrew’s a major venue for creative improvised music.”

His interactions with other musicians are always mesmerizing, but I find this 2011 video of Sorgen performing solo riveting as well:

Harvey Sorgen, Marilyn Crispell, Ken Filiano, and Esa Pietila will perform on September 25 at Saint Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Beacon at 5pm. Admission is $20. For more information, call (845) 831-1369 or visit http://www.standrewsbeaconny.org/.

  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley

Mon., Feb. 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 1, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 8, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 15, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 6, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 13, 5:45-7 p.m. and Mon., May 20, 5:45-7 p.m. — 1st and 3rd Mondays: Teen Songwriting Meet-Up, 5:45-7pm, $28 per person 2nd...

View all of today's events

People who saved…

Top Commenters

Current Issue

March 1-31, 2019
Issue Cover