Spark Media Project Film Release | Daily Dose

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Spark Media Project Film Release

Posted By on Wed, Apr 19, 2017 at 3:15 PM

dd419.jpg
One of the top five finalists in the Tribeca Film Institute’s “The America I Am,” is an original youth-produced film, Santa Women. Spark Media Project announced that the film will be showcased at the Tribeca Film Festival at Ellis Island on April 19. Poughkeepsie youth producers Anissa “Tori” Isaacs and Nyah Sharrock produced the film in a two-week intensive project in the winter of 2016, mentored by Ari Williams, a Forge producer. The film chronicles the turbulent adventures of Christine Kringel, a young black woman entering a Santa competition, and directly tackles issues regarding stereotypes and discrimination, while also challenging the representation of young black women in film.

Spark Media Project is an arts and education organization focused on nurturing creativity and building skillsets among youth through media arts and technology. Located in Poughkeepsie, NY, they aim to create a teaching/learning environment where artists, educators, community activists, and especially children and teens can learn to interact with the media arts as both creators and as critical viewers.

  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley

Mon., Feb. 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 1, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 8, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 15, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 6, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 13, 5:45-7 p.m. and Mon., May 20, 5:45-7 p.m. — 1st and 3rd Mondays: Teen Songwriting Meet-Up, 5:45-7pm, $28 per person 2nd...

View all of today's events

Top Commenters

Current Issue

March 1-31, 2019
Issue Cover