Composer Unveils Site-Specific Piece in Garrison | Daily Dose

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Composer Unveils Site-Specific Piece in Garrison

Posted By on Wed, Sep 20, 2017 at 9:00 AM

click to enlarge suzanne_thorpe.jpg
Improvising flutist and composer Suzanne Thorpe has long straddled the worlds of experimental music and alternative rock. A founding member of local cult faves Mercury Rev, she’s also worked with J Mascis of Dinosaur Jr and the late Pauline Oliveros. This month at Manitoga AKA the Russel Wright Design Center, Thorpe will present Resonance & Resemblance, “a sonic performance and meditation” created specifically for the site. “In a time when difference is often used to instigate division from each other and our environment, it is important to recognize that our boundaries are more porous than we think,” says Thorpe, a Mills College graduate and University of California San Diego instructor. “Through sound and active listening, Resonance & Resemblance creates space to explore our interconnectedness and entanglement with each other, and our surroundings.” Here’s a 2014 piece by Thorpe, Listening Is As Listening Does: Suzanne Thorpe will present Resonance & Resemblance at Manitoga/the Russel Wright Design Center in Garrison, New York, on September 30 at 3pm. The event includes a landscape soundwalk prelude, followed by a seated listening meditation. Tickets are $45 ($20 children 18 and under; $35 for Manitoga members; $125 benefit includes private reception with Thorpe). For more information, call (845) 424-3812 or visit http://www.visitmanitoga.org/.
  • Pin It
  • Email
  • Favorite

Tags: , ,

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Latest in Daily Dose

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Thursday Night Jazz Jams @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Thursday Night Jazz Jams

Thu., Feb. 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 7, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 4, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 11, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 18, 6-7:30 p.m. and Thu., April 25, 6-7:30 p.m. — Play standards from the Real Book and beyond, refine your improvisation skills,...
Wood & Wine: Monogram Trays @ Iron & Wine Restaurant

Wood & Wine: Monogram Trays

Thu., March 21, 6:30 p.m.

View all of today's events

Top Commenters

Current Issue

March 1-31, 2019
Issue Cover