8 Hudson Valley Books to Gift this Holiday Season | Books & Authors | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

8 Hudson Valley Books to Gift this Holiday Season 

click to enlarge 01_atlas-obscura_-2nd-edition--an-explorer_s-guide-to-the-.jpg

Atlas Obscura, 2nd Edition: An Explorer's Guide to the World's Hidden Wonders

By Joshua Foer, Ella Morton, Dylan Thuras
Workman Publishing, $37.50

It's hard to think of a more gift-wrappable book than Atlas Obscura, a gorgeously designed objet d'art inspired by the popular website of the same name. Cofounded by Hudson Valley resident Dylan Thuras, Atlas Obscura the brand is dedicated to exploration of our planet's endless supply of amazing sights (and sites), cultures, characters, and adventures. Atlas Obscura the book is an inspirational curio cabinet of all that wonder and thrill that anyone would be proud to have on their coffee table. The recently released second edition is worth a look even for Obscura fans with its 100 new destinations and a foldout map that doubles as an itinerary if you plan to use it like a guidebook (but armchair travelers like me are welcome and encouraged to jump in!).

Recommended by Jesse Post of Postmark Books in Rosendale.

click to enlarge 02_cork-and-knife-by-emily-and-matt-clifton-.jpg

Cork and Knife

by Emily and Matt Clifton
Page Street Publishing, $21.99 

As all great home cooks and chefs know, building flavors really sets a dish apart and one of the best ways is through the addition of wine, beer or spirits. Emily and Matt Clifton, local bloggers from Beacon known as Nerds with Knives have crafted a beautiful book with mouthwatering photos and easy to follow recipes incorporating booze in every dish! This book is a perfect gift for any foodie on your list! You can even get a personalized signed edition of Cork and Knife when Matt and Emily visit Barking Goose on December 14 at 2pm.

Recommended by Jenifer Flynn of Barking Goose Bookstore Bar & Café in Newburgh.

click to enlarge 03_the-book-of-gutsy-women--favorite-stories-of-courage-and-.jpg

The Book of Gutsy Women: Favorite Stories of Courage and Resilience

by Hillary Rodham Clinton and Chelsea Clinton

Simon & Schuster, $35

This passionate mother-daughter duo assembles an all-star list of strong women to inspire us in this great anthology. From Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie to Harriet Tubman, the stories in this book give us all something to aspire to. Each portrait is accompanied by personal thoughts from Hillary or Chelsea, and includes photos. This is the perfect gift for all the women (and the best men!) in your life. 

Recommended by Suzanna Hermans of Oblong Books & Music in Rhinebeck and Millerton. Signed copies available at both shops.

click to enlarge 04_hi-fi--the-history-of-high-end-audio-design-_themes-and-m.jpg

Hi-Fi: The History of High-End Audio Design (Themes and Movements)

By Gideon Schwartz
Phaidon, $79.95

Everyone is a geek about something, and for your tech/gadget-head friend or family member who also loves music, Gideon Schwartz's lavishly illustrated Hi-Fi: The History of High-End Audio Design is the perfect gift. From Edison to Jobs, the phonograph to Braun, Woodstock resident Schwartz covers much ground in this designer's dream of an informative art book. Our favorite chapter: the super sexy innovations and advertisements from the 1960s. 

Recommended by James Conrad of the Golden Notebook in Woodstock.

05_america_s-best-day-hikes--spectacular-single-day-hikes-.jpg

America's Best Day Hikes: Spectacular Single-Day Hikes Across the States

By Derek Dellinger
Countryman Press, $29.95

A perfect gift for both seasoned and aspiring outdoor enthusiasts, America's Best Day Hikes is a beautiful and practical guide for finding the best trails to explore in every region of the United States—including one memorable trek right here in the Hudson Valley—complete with details about difficulty, seasonal hazards, travel, and packing suggestions. Written and photographed by Beacon resident Derek Dellinger, this new compendium makes for a perfect coffee table book.

Recommended by Amanda and Anthony Stromoski of Rough Draft Bar & Books in Kingston.

click to enlarge 06_living-bread--tradition-and-innovation-in-artisan-bread-m.jpg

Living Bread: Tradition and Innovation in Artisan Bread Making

Daniel Leader

Avery, $40

Today, professional bakers and bread enthusiasts from all over the world make the pilgrimage to Bread Alone's headquarters to learn the signature techniques and philosophy of Dan Leader. Leader offers a comprehensive picture of bread baking today for the enthusiastic home baker. It's as mouthwatering to flip through, with its full-page bread porn photos, as it is instructional, featuring anecdotes from Leader's travels, information about the evolution of global breadmaking, and 60 recipes ranging from the timeless to the playful.

Recommended by Marie Doyon, digital editor of Chronogram.

07_ancient-baseball-by-mikhail-horowitz-.jpg

Ancient Baseball

By Mikhail Horowitz

Alte Books, $15

Cultural provocateur and baseball obsessive Mik Horowitz has published a collection of improbable scholarship just in time for the holidays, linking the sport's origins to its earliest recorded history. This history has its tongue firmly in its cheek, with text and photography that place the game variously in ancient Greece (Aphrodite, or A-Phrod, was a big fan); Mesopotamia (where the Ballpark at Babel was known for its Cuneiform Cola and Chaldean Chips); and Judea (Hebrew sluggers played in the Park of the Covenant).

Recommended by Brian K. Mahoney, Chronogram editor.

click to enlarge 08_river-by-elisha-cooper-.jpg

River

By Elisha Cooper

orchard Books, $18.99

In this picture book loaded with lush watercolor illustrations, Elisha Cooper takes readers on a trip from the headwaters of the Hudson River all the way down to the ocean. It's a daring journey taken by a lone woman in a canoe, who experiences intense highs and lows along the way, occasionally questioning whether she can go on. But this book is a study in perseverance and the joy of adventure for adventure's sake. This one is not just for the kids—anyone who loves the river, the outdoors, or beautiful art will fall hard for this story with a heartwarming ending and lots of little details that will have you coming back to enjoy vicariously traveling the river again and again.

Recommended by Kelley Drahushuk of Spotty Dog Books & Ale in Hudson.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Candy Flipping @ Turley Gallery

Candy Flipping

Fridays-Sundays, 12-5 p.m. Continues through July 31 — Turley Gallery presents Candy Flipping July 2-July 31, 2022 Opening reception July...
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Tue., May 17, 10 a.m., Wed., May 18, 10 a.m., Thu., May 19, 10 a.m., Fri., May 20, 10 a.m., Sat., May 21, 10 a.m., Sun., May 22, 10 a.m., Mon., May 23, 10 a.m., Tue., May 24, 10 a.m., Wed., May 25, 10 a.m., Thu., May 26, 10 a.m., Fri., May 27, 10 a.m., Sat., May 28, 10 a.m., Sun., May 29, 10 a.m., Mon., May 30, 10 a.m., Tue., May 31, 10 a.m., Wed., June 1, 10 a.m., Thu., June 2, 10 a.m., Fri., June 3, 10 a.m., Sat., June 4, 10 a.m., Sun., June 5, 10 a.m., Mon., June 6, 10 a.m., Tue., June 7, 10 a.m., Wed., June 8, 10 a.m., Thu., June 9, 10 a.m., Fri., June 10, 10 a.m., Sat., June 11, 10 a.m., Sun., June 12, 10 a.m., Mon., June 13, 10 a.m., Tue., June 14, 10 a.m., Wed., June 15, 10 a.m., Thu., June 16, 10 a.m., Fri., June 17, 10 a.m., Sat., June 18, 10 a.m., Sun., June 19, 10 a.m., Mon., June 20, 10 a.m., Tue., June 21, 10 a.m., Wed., June 22, 10 a.m., Thu., June 23, 10 a.m., Fri., June 24, 10 a.m., Sat., June 25, 10 a.m., Sun., June 26, 10 a.m., Mon., June 27, 10 a.m., Tue., June 28, 10 a.m., Wed., June 29, 10 a.m., Thu., June 30, 10 a.m., Fri., July 1, 10 a.m., Sat., July 2, 10 a.m., Sun., July 3, 10 a.m., Mon., July 4, 10 a.m., Tue., July 5, 10 a.m., Wed., July 6, 10 a.m., Thu., July 7, 10 a.m., Fri., July 8, 10 a.m., Sat., July 9, 10 a.m., Sun., July 10, 10 a.m., Mon., July 11, 10 a.m., Tue., July 12, 10 a.m., Wed., July 13, 10 a.m., Thu., July 14, 10 a.m., Fri., July 15, 10 a.m., Sat., July 16, 10 a.m., Sun., July 17, 10 a.m., Mon., July 18, 10 a.m., Tue., July 19, 10 a.m., Wed., July 20, 10 a.m., Thu., July 21, 10 a.m., Fri., July 22, 10 a.m., Sat., July 23, 10 a.m., Sun., July 24, 10 a.m., Mon., July 25, 10 a.m., Tue., July 26, 10 a.m., Wed., July 27, 10 a.m., Thu., July 28, 10 a.m., Fri., July 29, 10 a.m., Sat., July 30, 10 a.m., Sun., July 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 13, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 23, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 31, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 1, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 2, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 3, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 11, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 16, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 29, 10 a.m. and Fri., Sept. 30, 10 a.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required