A Poem by Yana Kane | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

A Poem by Yana Kane 

Last Updated: 08/13/2013 3:30 pm
These are tricky poems to find; they are the subtle hum in your notebook…
—Natalie Goldberg


At the first tingling of a poem,
Pounce upon the sensation.
Scratch it hard, like a kid
Absorbed in the first mosquito bite of the season.
Scratch, tear, let it become a frenzy, a fury.
Draw blood. Do not worry whether anyone
Will ever read your words.
At this moment, the universe tastes your salt.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Fri., Nov. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 13, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Nov. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 21, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 23, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 24, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 25, 5 p.m., Fri., Nov. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 1, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 2, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 3, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Dec. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 24, 5 p.m., Sat., Dec. 25, 5 p.m., Sun., Dec. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., Dec. 31, 10 a.m.
Prairie Prince's "Colors and Passions: Music Art Magic" @ Thunderhorse Hollow Farm Flying Emu House

Prairie Prince's "Colors and Passions: Music Art Magic"

Mondays-Sundays, 4-6 p.m. Continues through Dec. 24 — Prairie Prince, Superstar Rock Drummer and Pop Artist, will exhibit his work,...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required