A Poem: Onions | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

A Poem: Onions 

to be sure, she felt him at her
elbow in the crowd of the
kitchen or at black midnight but
most of all when the trees
changed their leaves from green
to gold, tossing away one dress
for another and, finally, bone-
naked through the winter and
the rain, grey arms, fingers
scratching at the sky, forlorn, as if
to say: once I was beautiful, once
your sun shone upon me, in my
plot of fine-mowed grass, bordered
by a walk of slate-blue hexagons,
so orderly

(my timber and my roots are
the self-same ones you loved and
stroked so many months ago)

what changed? she cannot tell,
but still catches a whiff of
him, resonant as
onions heavy upon the breath
Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
"Act of God" — A Sinfully Funny Comedy @ Denizen Theatre

"Act of God" — A Sinfully Funny Comedy

Fri., Nov. 25, 7-8:30 p.m., Sat., Nov. 26, 7-8:30 p.m., Sun., Nov. 27, 2-3:30 p.m., Thu., Dec. 1, 7-8:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 2, 7-8:30 p.m., Sat., Dec. 3, 7-8:30 p.m., Sun., Dec. 4, 2-3:30 p.m., Thu., Dec. 8, 7-8:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 9, 7-8:30 p.m., Sat., Dec. 10, 7-8:30 p.m., Sun., Dec. 11, 2-3:30 p.m., Thu., Dec. 15, 7-8:30 p.m., Fri., Dec. 16, 7-8:30 p.m., Sat., Dec. 17, 7-8:30 p.m., Sun., Dec. 18, 2-3:30 p.m., Thu., Dec. 22, 7-8:30 p.m. and Fri., Dec. 23, 7-8:30 p.m. — God and his two archangels explore his mysterious ways as he delivers...
Knowing when @ Turley Gallery

Knowing when

Fridays-Sundays, 12-5 p.m. Continues through Nov. 27 — TURLEY is excited to present two new exhibitions for November. November 5-November...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required