A Poem: Prison Sangha | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

A Poem: Prison Sangha 

The paring knife slips under the skin.

Eases under black-purple wrinkles, loosens

the dry casing. Slices into lush musculature.

Cuts through miniscule juice-bearing

veins.

The knife runs around the scalp, removing the final

brittle tuft of hair, and then descends

to the belly. Amputates the

shriveled umbilical, the last lick of the mother

tongue.

In beets up to our elbows, we are talking

about death row. I say, Kogen once told me

that, when convicted for murder, he spent

eight months in solitude counting the

breath.

The irony is not lost on me: I too am here

to learn about impermanence.

Before the meal, I bow at the altar. My clasped hands,

stained with juice, rise like a low red

moon.

Speaking of...

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Export 2019: A Joint Exhibition of International Artists @ The Poughkeepsie Trolley Barn

Export 2019: A Joint Exhibition of International Artists

March 9-24, 6-8 p.m. — A Joint Show of International Artists, curated by Xuewu Zheng and Emilie...
Thursday Night Jazz Jams @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Thursday Night Jazz Jams

Thu., Feb. 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 7, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 4, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 11, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 18, 6-7:30 p.m. and Thu., April 25, 6-7:30 p.m. — Play standards from the Real Book and beyond, refine your improvisation skills,...

View all of today's events

Trending Arts & Culture

Chronogram on Instagram

@Chronogram

Latest in Arts & Culture