Album Review: Jamie Saft/Steve Swallow/Bobby Previte | You Don’t Know the Life and The Jamie Saft Quartet | Hidden Corners | Music | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Album Review: Jamie Saft/Steve Swallow/Bobby Previte | You Don’t Know the Life and The Jamie Saft Quartet | Hidden Corners 

click to enlarge untitled-1.jpg

Jamie Saft/Steve Swallow/Bobby Previte You Don't Know the Life

The Jamie Saft Quartet Hidden Corners

RareNoiseRecords.com

The expressive range of the organ is explored on keyboardist Jamie Saft's You Don't Know the Life. Kicking off with the Bill Evans's composition "Re: Person I Knew," Saft colors drummer Bobby Previte's shuffle-and-chime percussion with guitar-like tones, mounting to a joyous frenzy one might be tempted to say shreds. The original "Dark Squares" is low and droney, almost stoner-y. "Moonlight in Vermont" has a romantic, couples'-skate vibe, not subverted but given sexy subtext by Previte's fills and bassist Steve Swallow's loping lyricism. Throughout, the album exploits and escapes the listener's (this listener's, anyway) associations of non-ecclesiastical organ, giving classic-pop-adjacent tunes (Bacharach and David's "Alfie"!) rock muscle and swing. 

On Hidden Corners, Saft's quartet are a more traditional configuration: Saft on piano, Dave Liebman on saxes and flute, Bradley Christopher Jones on bass, and Hamid Drake behind the drums. Inspired in part by John Coltrane's own exploration of the Jewish study of Kabbalah, the group probe the mysteries of a "musical geometry." In "Positive Way," there is a sense of sprawling structure: a Latin percussive groove matched with quick-fingered bass figures that suggest a Middle Eastern oud leading into a frayed, sax announcement. "231 Gates" lilts in on a high wooden flute that evokes a samurai, a gunslinger, and a bird simultaneously while the bass, piano, and percussion behind create a kind of natural weather. It's a Kurosawa-evoking track. The titular tune is contemplative, an inward conversation of steady-trucking longing, perhaps, finding the rhythmic route from one far-flung musical corner to the next.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Sat., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 30, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 1, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 2, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 3, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 4, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 5, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 6, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 7, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 8, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 9, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Oct. 10, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 11, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 12, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 13, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 14, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 15, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 16, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 17, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 18, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 19, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 20, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 21, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 22, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 23, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 24, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 25, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 26, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 27, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 28, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 29, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 30, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 13, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Nov. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 23, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 24, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 1, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 2, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 3, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Dec. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., Dec. 31, 10 a.m.
True to Form: Lalique Glass, Small Sculpture, and Garden Statuary from the Arkell Museum Collection @ Canajoharie Library & Arkell Museum

True to Form: Lalique Glass, Small Sculpture, and Garden Statuary from the Arkell Museum Collection

June 8-Dec. 30, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. — From around 1890 to 1930, fountain and garden statuary flourished in the...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

  • Design Destination: Field + Supply’s Fall MRKT Returns to Hutton Brickyards
  • Design Destination: Field + Supply’s Fall MRKT Returns to Hutton Brickyards

    Lovers of craft and design, rejoice! Field+Supply’s Fall MRKT is making a much-anticipated return to Hutton Brickyards, where its 2019 celebration of all things artisan-made drew about 9,000 visitors to peruse, purchase, and play on the Kingston waterfront. From high-end furniture and home decor to apothecary wares, ceramics, clothing, jewelry, and small-batch food and beverage makers, the three-day event promises to be a veritable showcase of one-of-a-kind creators.
    • Sep 21, 2021
  • 8 Incredible Hudson Valley Events
  • 8 Incredible Hudson Valley Events

    Here we are, back again with another fantabulous roundup of Hudson Valley happenings.
    • Sep 20, 2021
  • Prost! Quail Hollow’s Artful Octoberfest Returns to Rhinebeck
  • Prost! Quail Hollow’s Artful Octoberfest Returns to Rhinebeck

    Celebrate the bounty of the Hudson Valley with a spin on a beloved autumn tradition as Handcrafted Octoberfest: A Family Harvest Celebration returns to the Dutchess County Fairgrounds in Rhinebeck Saturday and Sunday, October 2 and 3.
    • Sep 18, 2021
  • More »
It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required