Album Review: Pitchfork Militia | Grass or Gravel? | Music | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Album Review: Pitchfork Militia | Grass or Gravel? 

click to enlarge cd_pitchfork_militia_grass_or_gravel_.jpg

Pitchfork Militia | Grass or Gravel?

(Independent)
Pitchforkmilitia1.bandcamp.com


Peter Head gave himself a challenge: Write 14 songs in 14 days. Head, the guitar slinger and vocalist of Palenville stalwarts Pitchfork Militia made good use of the fortnight on the band's latest album. Abetted by mates Karl Krause (bass) and Joe P. Morgan (drums), the songs are loosely inspired by classic comic strips. Leadoff track "Family Circus" is driven by distorted guitar and a thudding bassline. Head gives a withering review of the square, Middle American family in the round-bordered comic strip: "You know those stupid kids were always wetting the bed!" The band's trademark blend of punk, country, rock, and blues is on full tilt, whether, lusting after an intrepid reporter in "Brenda Star," giving the war orphan "Dondi" a speed twang soundtrack, or lending some staccato riffing to the pipe-smoking outdoorsman of "Mark Trail."

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
ASHLEY GARRETT: Aegis @ September

ASHLEY GARRETT: Aegis

June 26-Aug. 16, 12-5 p.m. and Fridays-Sundays, 12-5 p.m. Continues through Aug. 16 — SEPTEMBER presents 'Aegis,' Ashley Garrett’s first solo exhibition with the gallery. After...
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Mon., July 13, 10 a.m., Tue., July 14, 10 a.m., Wed., July 15, 10 a.m., Thu., July 16, 10 a.m., Fri., July 17, 10 a.m., Sat., July 18, 10 a.m., Sun., July 19, 10 a.m., Mon., July 20, 10 a.m., Tue., July 21, 10 a.m., Wed., July 22, 10 a.m., Thu., July 23, 10 a.m., Fri., July 24, 10 a.m., Sat., July 25, 10 a.m., Sun., July 26, 10 a.m., Mon., July 27, 10 a.m., Tue., July 28, 10 a.m., Wed., July 29, 10 a.m., Thu., July 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., July 31, 10 a.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture