Arm-of-the-Sea Theater | Theater | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Arm-of-the-Sea Theater 

sl_arm-of-the-sea_2012-by-alen-fetahi.jpg

Filled with the larger-than-life magical realism of a Tim Burton film or Gabriel García Márquez novel, performances by the Hudson Valley-based traveling mask and puppet theater troupe have been amazing audiences for 20 years. Their large-scale hybrid performances of visual arts and music create an atmosphere of strangeness and wonder that the whole family can enjoy. On August 23 through 25, Arm-of-the-Sea Theater presents its annual outdoor performance spectacle, "The Esopus Creek Puppet Suite," at Saugerties's Tina Chorvas Waterfront Park. This year's production, "A Bend in the Crick of Time—True Tall Tales from Olde Saugerties," focuses on the town's heritage, featuring historical Saugerties characters, like farming families, Civil War draft dodgers, paper mill workers, steamboat captains, and wandering poets. (845) 246-7873.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Sat., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 11, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 30, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 1, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 2, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 3, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 4, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 5, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 6, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 7, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 8, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 9, 10 & 10:30 a.m., Sun., Oct. 10, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 11, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 12, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 13, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 14, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 15, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 16, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 17, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 18, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 19, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 20, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 21, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 22, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 23, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 24, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 25, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 26, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 27, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 28, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 29, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 30, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 13, 10 & 10:30 a.m., Sun., Nov. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 23, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 24, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 1, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 2, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 3, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 11, 10 & 10:30 a.m., Sun., Dec. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., Dec. 31, 10 a.m.
Autumn Art Show at Windham Fine Arts @ Windham Fine Arts

Autumn Art Show at Windham Fine Arts

Sept. 4-Oct. 9, 12-6 p.m. — Join us for the Autumn Art Show at Windham Fine Arts from...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required