CD Review: Mighty Girl | Music | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It

CD Review: Mighty Girl 



Someone’s been studying the melodic chapters of the Velvet Underground songbook. Skipping over the chapter titled “Black Angel’s Death Song,” Mighty Girl has gone straight to “Pale Blue Eyes,” “Femme Fatale,” and “All Tomorrow’s Parties.”

Mighty Girl’s members—vocalist and guitarist Lena Fahringer, drummer Bill Fahringer, and bassist Bob Torsello (ex-Shrubs)—have studied those passages intently, too. You’ll hear the Velvets’ subversive, lurking cross melodies at play throughout “On the Rise,” and the unwinding textures on “Back To You” and the namesake track. There’s a deceptive, folksy tunefulness at play on “Dread the Notion” and “Dream.” Listen on for the poignant pop of “Sleepless” and “Gathering.”

Lena Fahringer’s vocal style is a cool Nico having lunch with Aimee Mann at an uptown ’60s chanteuse festival. Though to these ears that coolness could use a push into passion at times, her vocals do fall comfortably into an often bouncy but still ominous lushness that few trios can maintain. But, instrumentally, the Monroe-based band still holds the pace and time throughout these 11 songs.

Mighty Girl will play at the Bertoni Gallery in Sugar Loaf on July 15.


Speaking of...

Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

  • CD Review: Big Joe Fitz

    John Burdick reviews "Shoulda Known Better"—an album by Big Joe Fitz.
    • May 1, 2017
  • We Can Talk About It Now: John Simon

    John Simon's "Truth, Lies, and Hearsay" will premiere at the Kleinert/James Center for the Arts in Woodstock on May 14 at 7:30pm.
    • May 1, 2016

Hudson Valley Events

submit event

Common Ground

Oct. 6-Nov. 13 — A photography exhibition by Ellen Lynch. The exhibit pairs separate photographs of...

View all of today's events

Latest in Music

Related to Music

  • The Moonlights Sunday Brunch
  • The Moonlights Sunday Brunch

    The Moonlights, a debut musical collaboration for families, is making the rounds at a series of live performances, including two of the upcoming Sunday Brunch at the Falcon in Marlboro.
    • Mar 20, 2017
  • Opera in Phoenicia Park
  • Opera in Phoenicia Park

    With its open-air format, where attendees picnic in the parks and watch the stars emerge during performances, and its $5 youth tickets, the Phoenicia International Festival of the Voice is the perfect place to share with children a love of music and theater, in a variety of styles.
    • Jul 25, 2016
  • More »

More by Mike Jurkovic

  • Ballad of Cigarette Monty (RW)

    A poem by Mike Jurkovic and Will Nixon.
    • Oct 1, 2015
  • A Poem: My Inner Mexican

    A poem by Mike Jurkovic.
    • Feb 1, 2011
  • CD Review: Artie Traum

    Artie Traum’s all-star local band—Levin, drummer Gary Burke, pianist Warren Bernhardt and special guests like John Sebastian —lead us on an invigorating tour of Americana.
    • Aug 2, 2007
  • More »

Hudson Valley Tweets