CD Review: Mitch Kessler | Music | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

CD Review: Mitch Kessler 

Last Updated: 08/07/2013 4:53 pm

Mitch Kessler
Erratica
(Sunjump Records, 2008)

“Wait for it.” That suspenseful phrase heard in countless cinematic moments seems to have been echoed by alto and tenor saxophonist Mitch Kessler for some time. Recorded in 2008 at NRS Studio in Catskill, the Albany resident’s long overdue debut release, Erratica, is comprised of eight originals that tumble out of the post-bop bag and feature Hudson Valley jazz stalwarts pianist John Esposito, bassist Ira Coleman, and drummer Peter O’Brien. Erratica is technically adventurous (“The Sixth Marx Brother”) as well as arrestingly cerebral (“Brain Freeze”). But it also has its strikingly tender parts, like the ballad “Bibi Andersson,” with Kessler’s wilting, wavering tones draped by the glistening runs of notes from Esposito, who produced Erratica for his Sunjump label. This group, though, seems to groove at a high-thermometer reading. After Esposito’s opening solo, “Goblins in Love” becomes aglow in white heat, tempered by the loping, melodic lines of Kessler. “Panic” is an arm-wrestling match between O’Brien and Kessler. O’Brien brings about as much smack and crackle as Kessler can propel, in short, jabbing statements. In “Deconstructing Post Modernist Dilletantism,” the ensemble jumps through narrow portals with an abandonment of fear. It’s Esposito’s proximity to Thelonious Monk and Kessler’s to saxophonist Charlie Rouse that harkens back to Monk’s tenure at the Five Spot in New York in the late ’50s. Like Monk, Esposito holds you suspended in the air during his solo, wondering when he’s gonna drop you dizzily to the ground. Erratica points straight ahead to another release by Kessler in the future. www.sunjumprecords.com
cd--mitch-kesslerfinal.jpg
Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
2022 SummerScape @ Fisher Center at Bard

2022 SummerScape

June 23-Aug. 14 — Bard SummerScape returns this summer with eight weeks of live music, opera,...
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Tue., May 17, 10 a.m., Wed., May 18, 10 a.m., Thu., May 19, 10 a.m., Fri., May 20, 10 a.m., Sat., May 21, 10 a.m., Sun., May 22, 10 a.m., Mon., May 23, 10 a.m., Tue., May 24, 10 a.m., Wed., May 25, 10 a.m., Thu., May 26, 10 a.m., Fri., May 27, 10 a.m., Sat., May 28, 10 a.m., Sun., May 29, 10 a.m., Mon., May 30, 10 a.m., Tue., May 31, 10 a.m., Wed., June 1, 10 a.m., Thu., June 2, 10 a.m., Fri., June 3, 10 a.m., Sat., June 4, 10 a.m., Sun., June 5, 10 a.m., Mon., June 6, 10 a.m., Tue., June 7, 10 a.m., Wed., June 8, 10 a.m., Thu., June 9, 10 a.m., Fri., June 10, 10 a.m., Sat., June 11, 10 a.m., Sun., June 12, 10 a.m., Mon., June 13, 10 a.m., Tue., June 14, 10 a.m., Wed., June 15, 10 a.m., Thu., June 16, 10 a.m., Fri., June 17, 10 a.m., Sat., June 18, 10 a.m., Sun., June 19, 10 a.m., Mon., June 20, 10 a.m., Tue., June 21, 10 a.m., Wed., June 22, 10 a.m., Thu., June 23, 10 a.m., Fri., June 24, 10 a.m., Sat., June 25, 10 a.m., Sun., June 26, 10 a.m., Mon., June 27, 10 a.m., Tue., June 28, 10 a.m., Wed., June 29, 10 a.m., Thu., June 30, 10 a.m., Fri., July 1, 10 a.m., Sat., July 2, 10 a.m., Sun., July 3, 10 a.m., Mon., July 4, 10 a.m., Tue., July 5, 10 a.m., Wed., July 6, 10 a.m., Thu., July 7, 10 a.m., Fri., July 8, 10 a.m., Sat., July 9, 10 a.m., Sun., July 10, 10 a.m., Mon., July 11, 10 a.m., Tue., July 12, 10 a.m., Wed., July 13, 10 a.m., Thu., July 14, 10 a.m., Fri., July 15, 10 a.m., Sat., July 16, 10 a.m., Sun., July 17, 10 a.m., Mon., July 18, 10 a.m., Tue., July 19, 10 a.m., Wed., July 20, 10 a.m., Thu., July 21, 10 a.m., Fri., July 22, 10 a.m., Sat., July 23, 10 a.m., Sun., July 24, 10 a.m., Mon., July 25, 10 a.m., Tue., July 26, 10 a.m., Wed., July 27, 10 a.m., Thu., July 28, 10 a.m., Fri., July 29, 10 a.m., Sat., July 30, 10 a.m., Sun., July 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 13, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 23, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 31, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 1, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 2, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 3, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 11, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 16, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 29, 10 a.m. and Fri., Sept. 30, 10 a.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required