CD Review: Todd Mack | Music | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

CD Review: Todd Mack 

click to enlarge Todd Mack - The Thirteenth Step - (2011, Off the Beat-n-Track Records)
  • Todd MackThe Thirteenth Step(2011, Off the Beat-n-Track Records)

Over the past 12 years or so, Todd Mack has emerged as that rare artist who expends at least as much energy in the service of his fellows as he does on himself; from his late, syndicated “Off the Beat-n-Track Radio Show,” which showcased independent musicians, to FODFest, which promotes cultural understanding through music, Mack is as close as we will get to a regional rock ’n’ roll saint.

But saints need help too. On “Head,” track one of Mack’s seventh solo release, The Thirteenth Step, the singer-songwriter-producer acknowledges his need with a line worthy of Leonard Cohen: “Help me shed the light so I can learn to see / I’ll take vision over sight to know what’s right in front of me.” Where Mack’s previous outings have veered toward a rollicking Rolling Thunder Revue template, The Thirteenth Step employs more of a Plastic Ono Band approach. Indeed, Mack’s cover of that album’s self-lacerating anti-anthem, “Working Class Hero,” fits right in with the raw ache of “Bereft” and the gimlet-eyed realism of the title track. As producer, Mack weaves textures both lush and stark, inviting us to look into the abyss with him—the hole opened by the ravages of addiction and/or a simple glance in the mirror. He practices what he preaches by using music—namely, rootsy rock ’n’ roll—as a way of understanding, forgiving, and enlarging the picture until angels, love, and home appear on the horizon.

Tags: , ,

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
ENSAMBLE STUDIO: ANTÓN GARCÍA-ABRIL AND DÉBORA MESA MOLINA - Ca'n Terra: Architecture of the Earth @

ENSAMBLE STUDIO: ANTÓN GARCÍA-ABRIL AND DÉBORA MESA MOLINA - Ca'n Terra: Architecture of the Earth

Mondays-Sundays, 3 p.m.-12 a.m. Continues through Oct. 31 — ‘T’ Space is excited to welcome Ensamble Studio, architects Débora Mesa and...
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Mon., July 13, 10 a.m., Tue., July 14, 10 a.m., Wed., July 15, 10 a.m., Thu., July 16, 10 a.m., Fri., July 17, 10 a.m., Sat., July 18, 10 a.m., Sun., July 19, 10 a.m., Mon., July 20, 10 a.m., Tue., July 21, 10 a.m., Wed., July 22, 10 a.m., Thu., July 23, 10 a.m., Fri., July 24, 10 a.m., Sat., July 25, 10 a.m., Sun., July 26, 10 a.m., Mon., July 27, 10 a.m., Tue., July 28, 10 a.m., Wed., July 29, 10 a.m., Thu., July 30, 10 a.m., Fri., July 31, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 1, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 2, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 3, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 4, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 5, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 6, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 7, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 8, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 9, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 10, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 11, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 12, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 13, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 14, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 15, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 16, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 17, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 19, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 20, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 21, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 22, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 23, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 24, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 25, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 26, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 27, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 28, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 29, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 30, 10 a.m. and Mon., Aug. 31, 10 a.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture