Jim Peppler's Civil Rights Photographs Donated to Kingston Collection | Visual Art | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Jim Peppler's Civil Rights Photographs Donated to Kingston Collection 

click to enlarge Rev. Ralph Abernathy scatters flowers over the casket of Martin Luther King Jr during burial rites in Atlanta, Georgia, on April 9, 1968. - JIM PEPPLER
  • Jim Peppler
  • Rev. Ralph Abernathy scatters flowers over the casket of Martin Luther King Jr during burial rites in Atlanta, Georgia, on April 9, 1968.

From 1956 to 1968, Jim Peppler worked for the Southern Courier, a nonprofit weekly Civil Rights newspaper serving Alabama, Mississippi, and Georgia. During that time, he shot thousands of images, which are now part Jim Peppler Collection at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. On January 13, Peppler, now living in the Hudson Valley, will be donating a series of his Civil Rights photos to the permanent collection of the A. J. Williams-Myers African Roots Library in Kingston. At the event, from 5 to 7pm, Pepppler will discuss his work and the struggle for equality he witnessed in the South in the late '60s.

Two men helping a woman on crutches, probably after voting in a building in Lowndes County, Alabama. - JIM PEPPLER
  • Jim Peppler
  • Two men helping a woman on crutches, probably after voting in a building in Lowndes County, Alabama.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults @ Art Omi

Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults

Wed., Sept. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 3, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 10, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 17, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 24, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 31, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 14, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 21, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 28, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 5, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 12, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 2, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 9, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 16, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 23, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 30, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 27, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 27, 5-6:30 p.m. and Wed., April 3, 5-6:30 p.m. — This weekly drawing group offers time and space for individuals who wish...
A Children's America @ Rockland Center for the Arts

A Children's America

Oct. 13-Nov. 25 — The overarching theme of “America” will include books about presidents, American values,...

View all of today's events

Latest in Arts & Culture

Chronogram on Instagram

@Chronogram