Million Women Drummers Gathering in New Paltz | Festivals | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Million Women Drummers Gathering in New Paltz 

click to enlarge ALESSANDRA BELLONI
  • Alessandra Belloni

On October 13, the Million Women Drummers Gathering, a convergence “of drummers, environmentalists, earth stewards, artists, musicians, women, men, and children for the love of drums and trees,” makes its debut at the Ulster County Fairgrounds in New Paltz. The day-long convergence includes performances by local and national musicians, workshops and “playshops,” a “Blessing of the Trees and Instruments,” children’s events; a drum and instrument swap, and more. The festival is sponsored by the Million Women Drummers Gathering Initiative, a “a global, community-based, shared leadership initiative of concerned women drummers, musicians, artists, community members, and visionaries.” (518) 291-6129; MillionWomenDrummers.com.

Speaking of...

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Readers also liked…

  • The Anti-McMansion

    The Tiny House & Green Living Freedom Fest takes place Friday, June 30 through Sunday, July 2, and includes speakers, live music, food trucks, kid activities, and tiny house vendors.
    • Jun 1, 2017
  • Basilica Farm & Flea

    Basilica Farm & Flea takes place in Hudson on May 7 and May 8.
    • May 1, 2016

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Unique Art Doll Exhibit @ Uncanny Gallery

Unique Art Doll Exhibit

Fri., Nov. 24, Sat., Nov. 25, Thu., Nov. 30, Fri., Dec. 1, Sat., Dec. 2, Thu., Dec. 7, Fri., Dec. 8, Sat., Dec. 9, Thu., Dec. 14, Fri., Dec. 15, Sat., Dec. 16, Wed., Dec. 20, Thu., Dec. 21, Fri., Dec. 22, Sat., Dec. 23, Thu., Dec. 28, Fri., Dec. 29 and Sat., Dec. 30 — Eclectic and unique selection of art dolls and figurative sculpture. Unique, whimsical,...

Boscobel Candlelit Holiday Tours

Fri., Nov. 24, 4 p.m., Sat., Nov. 25, 4 p.m., Sat., Dec. 2, 4 p.m., Sun., Dec. 3, 4 p.m., Sat., Dec. 9, 4 p.m. and Sun., Dec. 10, 4 p.m. — With the house decorated for a 19th century Christmas and string musicians...

View all of today's events

Latest in Festivals

Related to Festivals

  • Art Walk Kingston
  • Art Walk Kingston

    The second Art Walk Kingston, the self-guided tour of artist studios, lights up Kingston this weekend with art and happenings.
    • Sep 18, 2017
  • The Kingston Artist Soapbox Derby Reboots
  • The Kingston Artist Soapbox Derby Reboots

    With a fresh pair of organizers who affectionately call themselves the Derby Directors of Chaos, the Kingston Artist Soapbox Derby, that family-friendly arts happening, takes place this year on Sunday, August 20th, on the Rondout.
    • Aug 14, 2017
  • Newburgh is for Families
  • Newburgh is for Families

    On Saturday, June 3rd, from noon to 10pm, Newburgh will be throwing open its doors for a block party that goes above and beyond. It’s an opportunity for families to explore this city’s flourishing scene.
    • May 29, 2017
  • La Guelaguetza Festival
  • La Guelaguetza Festival

    For the eighth year this August, Grupo Folclórico de Poughkeepsie is bringing La Guelaguetza to Waryas Park in Poughkeepsie, to share the tradition with locals.
    • Aug 1, 2016
  • More »

More by Chronogram Staff

Hudson Valley Tweets