Oakley Hall III’s “Grinder’s Stand” | Theater | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Oakley Hall III’s “Grinder’s Stand” 

click to enlarge sl_oakley_oakley.jpg

The late local theater great's final written work, "Grinder's Stand," is revived at the Bridge Street Theatre "Raw Space" in Catskill for eight exclusive performances, from October 8 to 18. The 1978 play delves into the mysterious death of Meriwether Lewis of the infamous Lewis and Clark expedition—whether his demise was met through suicide, murder, or something much darker. Tragically, Oakley, the man who thrived as Artistic Director of Greene County's legendary Lexington Conservatory Theatre, fell from a bridge over Schoharie Creek that same year, suffering severe head trauma he would fail to recover from up until his death in 2011. The production coincides with an exhibit highlighting the famous playwright and his contributions to Greene County's cultural, artistic development, including archival photos of the Lexington Conservatory Theatre and a screening of Bill Rose's documentary on Oakley's life, The Loss of Nameless Things. Bridgest.org.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
"Gilardi: Tappeto-Natura" @ Magazzino Italian Art

"Gilardi: Tappeto-Natura"

May 7-Jan. 9 — Piero Gilardi's Tappeto-Natura (Nature-Carpets). Through an ample selection of relevant works, the...
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Tue., May 17, 10 a.m., Wed., May 18, 10 a.m., Thu., May 19, 10 a.m., Fri., May 20, 10 a.m., Sat., May 21, 10 a.m., Sun., May 22, 10 a.m., Mon., May 23, 10 a.m., Tue., May 24, 10 a.m., Wed., May 25, 10 a.m., Thu., May 26, 10 a.m., Fri., May 27, 10 a.m., Sat., May 28, 10 a.m., Sun., May 29, 10 a.m., Mon., May 30, 10 a.m., Tue., May 31, 10 a.m., Wed., June 1, 10 a.m., Thu., June 2, 10 a.m., Fri., June 3, 10 a.m., Sat., June 4, 10 a.m., Sun., June 5, 10 a.m., Mon., June 6, 10 a.m., Tue., June 7, 10 a.m., Wed., June 8, 10 a.m., Thu., June 9, 10 a.m., Fri., June 10, 10 a.m., Sat., June 11, 10 a.m., Sun., June 12, 10 a.m., Mon., June 13, 10 a.m., Tue., June 14, 10 a.m., Wed., June 15, 10 a.m., Thu., June 16, 10 a.m., Fri., June 17, 10 a.m., Sat., June 18, 10 a.m., Sun., June 19, 10 a.m., Mon., June 20, 10 a.m., Tue., June 21, 10 a.m., Wed., June 22, 10 a.m., Thu., June 23, 10 a.m., Fri., June 24, 10 a.m., Sat., June 25, 10 a.m., Sun., June 26, 10 a.m., Mon., June 27, 10 a.m., Tue., June 28, 10 a.m., Wed., June 29, 10 a.m., Thu., June 30, 10 a.m., Fri., July 1, 10 a.m., Sat., July 2, 10 a.m., Sun., July 3, 10 a.m., Mon., July 4, 10 a.m., Tue., July 5, 10 a.m., Wed., July 6, 10 a.m., Thu., July 7, 10 a.m., Fri., July 8, 10 a.m., Sat., July 9, 10 a.m., Sun., July 10, 10 a.m., Mon., July 11, 10 a.m., Tue., July 12, 10 a.m., Wed., July 13, 10 a.m., Thu., July 14, 10 a.m., Fri., July 15, 10 a.m., Sat., July 16, 10 a.m., Sun., July 17, 10 a.m., Mon., July 18, 10 a.m., Tue., July 19, 10 a.m., Wed., July 20, 10 a.m., Thu., July 21, 10 a.m., Fri., July 22, 10 a.m., Sat., July 23, 10 a.m., Sun., July 24, 10 a.m., Mon., July 25, 10 a.m., Tue., July 26, 10 a.m., Wed., July 27, 10 a.m., Thu., July 28, 10 a.m., Fri., July 29, 10 a.m., Sat., July 30, 10 a.m., Sun., July 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 13, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 23, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 31, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 1, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 2, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 3, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 11, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 16, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 29, 10 a.m. and Fri., Sept. 30, 10 a.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required