On the Cover: Daniel Baxter | November 2021 | Visual Art | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

On the Cover: Daniel Baxter | November 2021 

Last Updated: 11/02/2021 10:31 am
click to enlarge Evita Peron
  • Evita Peron

How do you find your way to the human soul? Some say it can be accessed through the eyes, others might need a map. Red Hook-based painter Daniel Baxter relies on both in his uniquely rendered portraits of soulful people on maps.

click to enlarge Patti Smith
  • Patti Smith

His portrait of Eva Perón, featured on the cover, was inspired by reading a biography of Che Guevara. “Because of her contributions to Argentina, she became known as the ‘Spiritual Leader of the Nation.’ I admired her support of workers’ rights, as well as for women’s rights, and I thought it would be cool to incorporate her image into a map of Argentina,” Baxter says. 

Baxter began exploring painting on maps with a 1941 Rand McNally atlas that was falling apart at the spine. He thought about recycling it, but found the maps too beautiful. A map of Cuba suggested an old 1950s Ford automobile. He tried it and loved the results. From there, he started free-associating on other maps, seeing what might come up. “I would respond to each map by drawing a portrait, a landmark, an artifact, which somehow resonated with each place,” he says. 

click to enlarge Mister Rogers
  • Mister Rogers

Continuing his research, Baxter gained access to enormous online collections of free maps to download. This allowed him to render notable people on maps suitable for portraits, developing his distinctive style along the way.

When asked if maps suggest the portrait or vice-versa, he responds, “It can definitely work either way. Ultimately, I try to look for a good marriage between the map and the subject, where they are each enhanced by the relationship. I never want the portrait to obscure what the map represents. The most important quality is that intuitive connection between the person and the place. If I feel that connection, the portrait will find a way to work. I try to summon sensitivity to my subject matter, and if it’s there, everything will fall into place.”

click to enlarge Sorjourner Truth
  • Sorjourner Truth

Baxter almost always works with black ink, which doesn’t compete with the map’s colors. “I like building a drawing with dry-brush technique. I utilize stamp pads and fingerprints as a way to create tones, as well as Q-tips to draw. I use pencils with darker carbons,” he explains. 


An avid reader, Baxter has broad interests in history, politics, science, sports, and music. “Maps are the perfect canvas to encompass these interests. They give me the ‘latitude and longitude’ to explore ideas and celebrate notable figures,” he adds. 

A lifelong resident of New York, Baxter grew up in Buffalo, studied illustration at Parsons School of Design, and lived in Brooklyn for 10 years. “Living in the city, I felt bombarded by so much information on busy streets. It was exciting, but as a more cerebral person, living close to nature gives me a clearer head. On a micro level, my town has an excellent recycling center, where I find cool old books, sheet music, and other material to draw on. As an artist who works with found material, this place has been a goldmine,” he says.

click to enlarge Cole Porter
  • Cole Porter


Tags:

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Fri., Nov. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 13, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Nov. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 21, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 23, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 24, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 25, 5 p.m., Fri., Nov. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 1, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 2, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 3, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Dec. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 24, 5 p.m., Sat., Dec. 25, 5 p.m., Sun., Dec. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., Dec. 31, 10 a.m.
Prairie Prince's "Colors and Passions: Music Art Magic" @ Thunderhorse Hollow Farm Flying Emu House

Prairie Prince's "Colors and Passions: Music Art Magic"

Mondays-Sundays, 4-6 p.m. Continues through Dec. 24 — Prairie Prince, Superstar Rock Drummer and Pop Artist, will exhibit his work,...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required