Parting Shot: Martin Parr | Visual Art | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Parting Shot: Martin Parr 

Renowned Photographer Hosts Exhibition at the harts gallery

From the "The Last Resort: Photographs of New Brighton" which will be exhibited at the harts gallery. - MARTIN PARR
  • Martin Parr
  • From the "The Last Resort: Photographs of New Brighton" which will be exhibited at the harts gallery.

Martin Parr forces us to confront the mundane in the grotesque. His photographs depict everyday people—a shellshocked young waiter, an overweight, elderly woman in a bikini on the beach—caught off guard. Tired, exposed, and vulnerable, his subjects are the carnival workers dining at the Plaza, the denizens of the garish English seaside. (His book The Last Resort: Photographs of New Brighton thrust him onto the photography scene in 1985.) Parr chronicles what we'd rather choose not to see.

click to enlarge From the "Last Resort: Photographs of New Brighton" - MARTIN PARR
  • Martin Parr
  • From the "Last Resort: Photographs of New Brighton"

His photographs express a satirical commentary on the everyday images we disregard—the food on our plate and the children in our neighborhood—and connect us to submerged memories of first dates and elementary school gym classes—awkward, uncomfortable feelings we barricade in the past.

"Strange Paradise," an exhibition of Parr's photographs, will be shown from July 2 through August 27 at the the harts gallery in New Milford, Connecticut. An opening reception will be held on July 9, from 5 to 8 pm.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Kings and Peasants @ AtWater Gallery

Kings and Peasants

Mondays-Sundays. Continues through Nov. 18 — Eight extraordinary puppet sculptures by Sam Shippee share the gallery with tempra...
Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults @ Art Omi

Open Contemporary Drawing for Adults

Wed., Sept. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Sept. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 3, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 10, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 17, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 24, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Oct. 31, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 7, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 14, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 21, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Nov. 28, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 5, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 12, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 19, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Dec. 26, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 2, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 9, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 16, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 23, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Jan. 30, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., Feb. 27, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 6, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 13, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 20, 5-6:30 p.m., Wed., March 27, 5-6:30 p.m. and Wed., April 3, 5-6:30 p.m. — This weekly drawing group offers time and space for individuals who wish...

View all of today's events

Latest in Arts & Culture

Chronogram on Instagram

@Chronogram