Poem: A Wintry Mind | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: A Wintry Mind 

A Wintry Mind

Here in this bare place, you are, and you are
not. A wintry mind notices the warmth
required to shape you. Nearer to
the melting point, you congeal. Shrinking
in the January thaw, you send
a shiver. Could one reach in, preserve
some part of you, like Shelley’s? In the icebox
you would blend with frost, losing iridescence.
Freezer burned, like one who walks into
a whiteout, seeking you in every flake
that disappears upon the tongue.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
David Kraai @ Keegan Ales

David Kraai

Thu., July 16, 5-8 p.m. — David Kraai swings by this excellent brewery's beer garden to dole out...
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Mon., July 13, 10 a.m., Tue., July 14, 10 a.m., Wed., July 15, 10 a.m., Thu., July 16, 10 a.m., Fri., July 17, 10 a.m., Sat., July 18, 10 a.m., Sun., July 19, 10 a.m., Mon., July 20, 10 a.m., Tue., July 21, 10 a.m., Wed., July 22, 10 a.m., Thu., July 23, 10 a.m., Fri., July 24, 10 a.m., Sat., July 25, 10 a.m., Sun., July 26, 10 a.m., Mon., July 27, 10 a.m., Tue., July 28, 10 a.m., Wed., July 29, 10 a.m., Thu., July 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., July 31, 10 a.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

  • From A Drive-In Opera To Plein-Air Shakespeare, Local Productions Head Outdoors
  • From A Drive-In Opera To Plein-Air Shakespeare, Local Productions Head Outdoors

    Hudson Valley art organizations were forced to cancel their upcoming productions in mid-March, but under Phase 4, productions are now reopening. Although reopening has come with many challenges, productions are moving outdoors and these art organizations are looking forward to welcoming back the community.
    • Jul 16, 2020
  • Live Music and Screenings Among This Week's Hudson Valley Events
  • Live Music and Screenings Among This Week's Hudson Valley Events

    This week’s roundup of Hudson Valley activities brings quite an interesting assortment of things to do.
    • Jul 15, 2020
  • Turning the Page on the Pandemic: Local Bookstores vs. COVID
  • Turning the Page on the Pandemic: Local Bookstores vs. COVID

    Hudson Valley bookstores were shut down when COVID hit, so they had to develop strategies to keep their businesses running and the books moving. They turned to social media to create a virtual browsing effect for the community, established curbside pick up and delivery, and planned for their reopening. Despite the challenges they faced during lockdown, now their doors are finally open and people can once again peruse the aisles for books under established and maintained health protocols.
    • Jul 15, 2020
  • More »