Poem: Bedtime, Age 3.5 | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: Bedtime, Age 3.5 

Bedtime, Age 3.5

What is a wake?
When you are dead, what is a wake?
(It's a time for people to say goodbye)
Will you be at my wake when I die?
Before they bury me and the worms crawl
all over my body
Because I will decompose to go back into the earth
(No, I won't be at your wake when you die,
because since you will be ancient when you die,
I will be even more ancient,
and I will already be dead)
Well, you might still be there
Like a piece of dust, or a cloud, you might be there
(That's true. I am always all around you)
Do you remember me before I was born?
When I was a star?
Will I become a star again after I decompose?
Do all ancient things become stars?
(Yes, yes, yes, yes, but you have to sleep now,
rest your whole body, even your mouth)
But, my mouth...
My mouth is so full of questions
Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Mon., July 13, 10 a.m., Tue., July 14, 10 a.m., Wed., July 15, 10 a.m., Thu., July 16, 10 a.m., Fri., July 17, 10 a.m., Sat., July 18, 10 a.m., Sun., July 19, 10 a.m., Mon., July 20, 10 a.m., Tue., July 21, 10 a.m., Wed., July 22, 10 a.m., Thu., July 23, 10 a.m., Fri., July 24, 10 a.m., Sat., July 25, 10 a.m., Sun., July 26, 10 a.m., Mon., July 27, 10 a.m., Tue., July 28, 10 a.m., Wed., July 29, 10 a.m., Thu., July 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., July 31, 10 a.m.
Summer 2020 Literary Soirée with Kurt Rhoads & Nance Williamson @

Summer 2020 Literary Soirée with Kurt Rhoads & Nance Williamson

Mon., July 13, 7-8 p.m. — Hudson Valley Shakespeare Festival's own Kurt Rhoads & Nance Williamson will read...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture