Poem: Mohonk Tower | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: Mohonk Tower 

Mohonk Tower

Once, when we were crazy,
we made love on Mohonk Tower.
Warm autumn afternoon,
other hikers voices floating up to us,
daring us,
"Come on! Push it!"
"Get up there!"
"You can do it, honey!"

My wife is still that bold.
She would come—
with me—
like that again.

I'm still nuts that way too,
just not quite so immediate.
My first coming's not guaranteed.
My second coming's a matter of faith.

The tower stands, a glorious glowing
memory.
I stand, well...
not always, but certainly,
often enough.

—Ken Greenman
Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Sat., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 30, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 1, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 2, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 3, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 4, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 5, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 6, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 7, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 8, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 9, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Oct. 10, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 11, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 12, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 13, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 14, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 15, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 16, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 17, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 18, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 19, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 20, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 21, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 22, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 23, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 24, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 25, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 26, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 27, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 28, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 29, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 30, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 13, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Nov. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 23, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 24, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 1, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 2, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 3, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 4, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 5, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 6, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 7, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 8, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 9, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 10, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 11, 10:30 a.m., Sun., Dec. 12, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 13, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 14, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 15, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 16, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 17, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 18, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 19, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 20, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 21, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 22, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 23, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 24, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 25, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 26, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 27, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 28, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 29, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 30, 10 a.m. and Fri., Dec. 31, 10 a.m.
Hudson Valley Artists 2021: Who Really Cares? @ Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art

Hudson Valley Artists 2021: Who Really Cares?

July 7-Nov. 14, 11 a.m.-5 p.m. — The 14th annual Hudson Valley Artists exhibition, will be curated by Helen...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

  • Autumn Awaits: Activities to Enjoy This Season in Nyack
  • Autumn Awaits: Activities to Enjoy This Season in Nyack

    With high summer quickly transforming into crisp autumn in the Hudson Valley, residents and visitors alike are looking for Covid-safe ways to continue enjoying the best of what the region has to offer. And Nyack, with its diverse shopping, dining, and recreation set against a backdrop of the gorgeous Hudson River, is welcoming them with open arms.
    • Sep 23, 2021
  • The Intersection of Agriculture and Art
  • The Intersection of Agriculture and Art

    The Barns Art Center in East Fishkill Kicks Off Its Fall Season with a Harvest Festival and a Docuseries on Local Farmers
    • Sep 23, 2021
  • Design Destination: Field + Supply’s Fall MRKT Returns to Hutton Brickyards
  • Design Destination: Field + Supply’s Fall MRKT Returns to Hutton Brickyards

    Lovers of craft and design, rejoice! Field+Supply’s Fall MRKT is making a much-anticipated return to Hutton Brickyards, where its 2019 celebration of all things artisan-made drew about 9,000 visitors to peruse, purchase, and play on the Kingston waterfront. From high-end furniture and home decor to apothecary wares, ceramics, clothing, jewelry, and small-batch food and beverage makers, the three-day event promises to be a veritable showcase of one-of-a-kind creators.
    • Sep 21, 2021
  • More »
It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required