Poem: Morning God | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: Morning God 

When I awake in my mother’s freezing basement,
I don’t jump awake like a bloody early morning quack.
I wish to the good god that swept me to sleep
That she’d count all my stars one more time
And whisper sweet nothings into the back of my mind.
To be honest, the sweet nothings are always floating there.
They never leave and rightly so;
Space head filled with clouds.
No, the sweet nothings are what keep me stifled
And snuggled and re-counting my re-counting
Until the moment I absolutely must arise.
You know, that moment that passed a few re-counts ago.
Eyes closed.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Summer Live Music @ PS21: Performance Spaces for the 21st Century

Summer Live Music

Fri., July 5, 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 6, 8-10 p.m., Fri., July 12, 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 13, 8-10 p.m., Fri., July 19, 1-3 & 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 20, 8-10 p.m., Thu., July 25, 7-9 p.m., Fri., July 26, 1-3 & 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 27, 7:30-10 p.m. and Sun., July 28, 3-5 p.m. — This July, PS21 brings the heat with the hottest jazz, blues, gospel,...
Anders Osborne @ Infinity Hall - Norfolk

Anders Osborne

Fri., July 19, 8 p.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture