Poem: Pink Sweet Peas, 1927, pastel Georgia O’Keeffe | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: Pink Sweet Peas, 1927, pastel Georgia O’Keeffe 

Most delicate of delicate petaling,
ruffled white chiffon tinged at the ends
with mango-rose,
a hint of spring green within,
but what is the point of such thin
fluttering, such pastel persuasion?

Like the bride on her wedding day
in her fabulous float to the altar.
Later there is always someone
who will step on her dress,
lean too close with his beer,
speak of something best left forgotten.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Brothers Size @ Ancram Opera House

The Brothers Size

Thu., Aug. 8, 8-9:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 9, 8-9:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 10, 8-9:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 11, 3-4:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 15, 8-9:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 16, 8-9:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 17, 8-9:30 p.m., Sun., Aug. 18, 3-4:30 p.m., Thu., Aug. 22, 8-9:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 23, 8-9:30 p.m., Sat., Aug. 24, 8-9:30 p.m. and Sun., Aug. 25, 3-4:30 p.m. — Set in the Louisiana bayou, "The Brothers Size" is a tough and...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture