Poem: Prey | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: Prey 

Once upon an ordinary morning,
she kills again.
The rabbit screams,
and within seconds
the torn form dangles
from her powerful mouth.
The best dog in the world
unwillingly drops her prey.
It's a battle as I drag her away.
I return to the crime scene.
This bunny does not go gently.
With guts exposed,
it moves for the last time.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Holiday Light Spectacular at the Orange County Fairgrounds 2020 @ Orange County Fairgrounds

Holiday Light Spectacular at the Orange County Fairgrounds 2020

Fri., Nov. 27, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Nov. 28, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Nov. 29, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 3, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 4, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 5, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 6, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 10, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 11, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 12, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 13, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 17, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 18, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 19, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 20, 5-10 p.m., Mon., Dec. 21, 5-10 p.m., Tue., Dec. 22, 5-10 p.m., Wed., Dec. 23, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 24, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 25, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 26, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 27, 5-10 p.m., Mon., Dec. 28, 5-10 p.m., Tue., Dec. 29, 5-10 p.m., Wed., Dec. 30, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 31, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Jan. 1, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Jan. 2, 5-10 p.m. and Sun., Jan. 3, 5-10 p.m. — The Holiday Light Spectacular at the Orange County Fairgrounds is the socially-distant...
“Let’s Face It” Online Art Exhibit at TCCC @

“Let’s Face It” Online Art Exhibit at TCCC

Nov. 21-Dec. 19 — TCCC presents “Let’s Face It”, an exploration of portraiture. This invitational exhibit,...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture