Poem: Seeking Conquistadors | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: Seeking Conquistadors 

I can’t explain to you
why I’m suddenly in the market
for antique Spanish swords
from our war against Iberians
in Teddy Roosevelt’s Caribbean
but here I am
hoping that geographic cures
will work—
A call to arms
that only the wounded
would heed.

It hurts to be so sober
on a Friday, half past eight
scouring Bannerman catalogues 110 years old
for militaria that one can no longer purchase
though if your love has left you
then perhaps you can relate.

A product description
catches my eye:
“SPANISH INFANTRY OFFICER’S SWORD,
with blade and scabbard broken in two.
Probably done so as not to surrender
complete sword.
Blade is Marked...
Captured in Cuba.
Price $6.00.”

Instantly I want it
but the time machine required
is almost as improbable
as Jackie coming back.

We Spaniards are so stubborn
even in defeat
and some of us still breathing
never came back from battle.

Tags: , ,

Speaking of Poems,

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Vibrant Traces by Susan Walsh @ Garrison Art Center

Vibrant Traces by Susan Walsh

Tuesdays-Sundays. Continues through Sept. 15 — Garrison Art Center is pleased to present Vibrant Traces, an exhibition of...
An Unbelievable 2019 Summer Season @ PS21: Performance Spaces for the 21st Century

An Unbelievable 2019 Summer Season

Sat., June 29, 8-10 p.m., Fri., July 5, 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 6, 8-10 p.m., Fri., July 12, 8-10 p.m., Fri., July 19, 1-3 & 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 20, 8-10 p.m., Thu., July 25, 7-10 p.m., Fri., July 26, 1-3 & 8-10 p.m., Sat., July 27, 7:30-10 p.m., Sun., July 28, 3-5 p.m., Fri., Aug. 2, 1-3 & 8-10 p.m., Sat., Aug. 3, 8-10 p.m., Tue., Aug. 6, 8:30-10:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 9, 1-3 & 8-10 p.m., Sat., Aug. 10, 8-10 p.m., Fri., Aug. 16, 1-3 & 8-10 p.m., Sat., Aug. 17, 8-10 p.m., Tue., Aug. 20, 8:30-10:30 p.m., Fri., Aug. 23, 8-10 p.m. and Sat., Aug. 24, 8-10 p.m. — PS21: Performance Spaces for the 21st Century presents a brand-new season of...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

  • A Little Touch of Stardust: Where to Celebrate 50 Years of Woodstock in the Hudson Valley
  • A Little Touch of Stardust: Where to Celebrate 50 Years of Woodstock in the Hudson Valley

    Here in the Hudson Valley and Catskills there’s a coziness about the Woodstock '69 50th anniversary. While tie dye and tolerance have never really gone out of style around here, those who’d like to mark the anniversary in some way have a number of local goings-on to slake their thirst for nostalgia, peace, love and music. Hey now, we still know how to brew that stuff from scratch.
    • Aug 16, 2019
  • Voices of the Earth Festival at Seed Song Farm
  • Voices of the Earth Festival at Seed Song Farm

    The first ever Voices of the Earth Festival on Labor Day weekend brings together musicians, dancers, artists, and speakers of both indigenous and transplanted heritage, with environmental groups to inspire a culture of celebration and action toward a healthy Earth.
    • Aug 15, 2019
  • Iconic Woodstock-New Paltz Art and Crafts Fair is Paradise For Lovers of the Handmade
  • Iconic Woodstock-New Paltz Art and Crafts Fair is Paradise For Lovers of the Handmade

    The Ulster County Fairgrounds in New Paltz will transform into a wonderland of creativity, packed with dozens of masterful makers: fiber artists, metal sculptors, woodcrafters, fine artists, jewelers and more for the Woodstock-New Paltz Art and Crafts Fair, which has been happening each Memorial Day and Labor Day for nearly four decades.
    • Aug 15, 2019
  • More »