Poem: Shadow | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Poem: Shadow 

I sit in a diner
and worry

about what to do
with the spoon
after stirring milk
into my coffee

and whether or not
I’ll end up
in a bigger house
than my father’s

I’m not sure
which is more important

I don’t even know
if I want kids

but I do know
I want a second cup
to wash down
these bacon and eggs

and the spoon keeps falling
off the saucer
and bleeding
through the napkin.





Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Thursday Night Jazz Jams @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Thursday Night Jazz Jams

Thu., Feb. 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 7, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 4, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 11, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 18, 6-7:30 p.m. and Thu., April 25, 6-7:30 p.m. — Play standards from the Real Book and beyond, refine your improvisation skills,...
Monty Python's Spamalot (Touring) @ Shubert Theatre

Monty Python's Spamalot (Touring)

Thu., Feb. 21, 7:30 p.m.

View all of today's events

Trending Arts & Culture

Chronogram on Instagram

@Chronogram

Latest in Arts & Culture