Small World Stories | Monthly Forecast | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Small World Stories 

Last Updated: 08/13/2013 3:36 pm

Page 2 of 7

Gemini (May 20-June 21)
This business of Gemini and dualism—it’s getting old. I’m not sure who has convinced us all, particularly we the supposedly intellectual ones, that “the world is dualistic.” Somebody did. Yet however many viewpoints, people, or concepts of ourselves that we encounter or possess, it seems to be a heck of a lot more than two. The only actual dualism that exists, as far as I can see it, is based exclusively on seeing oneself as separate from others (and that may be all it takes). True, it helps not at all that so many people insist with such passion that they are separate from us (greed is a significant influence here), that they have different interests, and, most of all, that they have different ideas that typically turn out to be the lack of ideas. That being said, how you get along with yourself is a critical question at this point. You still tend to project your inner differences onto others, and lately there has been a lot to project. That, at least, provides an organizing principle; you can use this frail concept of dualism to define “in here” (my own) and “out there” (their stuff). If you were to do something else, you would need to plunge into your inner chaos and manage to find your voice in the midst of it. You would need to puncture the many imaginary membranes that seem to separate your interior consciousness from itself. And before long, those inner barriers will go down like Japanese paper walls. Admittedly, you may not feel inclined to admit much, and may feel pinned down by how supremely powerful others seem to be. Remember: that, too, is a projection. All these people you know and encounter and the ones who seem so remote and influential: They are part of you, just like your fingers and toes. You can do everyone a favor by treating them that way. They want to be counted as part of you as much as you need them to be so.


Cancer (June 21-July 22)
The funny thing about you is, you move in cycles, but the cycles are predictable, and you keep coming around to the same basic place of honoring your commitments. It took you a while to learn to trust yourself in this process: to mean it when you say, I’ll be back in the future to take care of this, this is what I intend to get done by this date, or whatever the commitment may entail. The breakthrough came when you discovered that your track record supported the meaning of your words, rather than the words being a promise of speculated future action. If those who doubt you knew how seriously you take your commitments, they would be compelled to question their own integrity, and rightly so. The issue with the world right now is that despite much talk about walking one’s talk, most people don’t vaguely question their integrity except for the occasional panic attack; and that does not qualify as a thoughtful review. There is a do-or-die feeling to your sense of truth and justice right now. This is less about an obligation and more about a sacred trust you have with the universe. While you don’t want to send out a press release saying that you are the arbiter of cosmic obligation, you must have figured out that you get yourself into that role all the time, and by the time five o’clock rolls around, everyone has done pretty well. So, own this power and put it to work—and make sure it works for you, too. Your second breakthrough has been about defining yourself as someone who has given up their prior concept of limits. This does not happen overnight, but you are now seeing that your prior ceiling made of transparent aluminum is now more like the clear sky. Once again, this is not a matter of speculation, but rather of experience. And what it boils down to is that, for you, the world is a very different place.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
HAIR LOSS? FREE CONSULTATION NOW! @ OFFICES OF FACIAL PLASTIC, RECONSTRUCTIVE & LASER SURGERY

HAIR LOSS? FREE CONSULTATION NOW!

Nov. 9-Feb. 28 — HAIR LOSS SPECIALIST ANNEMICHELLE RADCLIFFE JOINS POUGHKEEPSIE’S FACIAL PLASTIC SURGERY & OASIS...
Holiday Light Spectacular at the Orange County Fairgrounds 2020 @ Orange County Fairgrounds

Holiday Light Spectacular at the Orange County Fairgrounds 2020

Fri., Nov. 27, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Nov. 28, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Nov. 29, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 3, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 4, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 5, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 6, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 10, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 11, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 12, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 13, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 17, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 18, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 19, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 20, 5-10 p.m., Mon., Dec. 21, 5-10 p.m., Tue., Dec. 22, 5-10 p.m., Wed., Dec. 23, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 24, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Dec. 25, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Dec. 26, 5-10 p.m., Sun., Dec. 27, 5-10 p.m., Mon., Dec. 28, 5-10 p.m., Tue., Dec. 29, 5-10 p.m., Wed., Dec. 30, 5-10 p.m., Thu., Dec. 31, 5-10 p.m., Fri., Jan. 1, 5-10 p.m., Sat., Jan. 2, 5-10 p.m. and Sun., Jan. 3, 5-10 p.m. — The Holiday Light Spectacular at the Orange County Fairgrounds is the socially-distant...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Horoscopes