Stephen Clair and the Pushbacks – Pushback | Album Review | Music | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Stephen Clair and the Pushbacks – Pushback | Album Review 

click to enlarge cd-stephen-clair-_-pushbacks.jpg

Stephen Clair and the Pushbacks
Pushback
(2017, Independent)

With the vocal delivery similar to the Kinks' Ray Davies or Brad Roberts of the Crash Test Dummies, and the songwriter's melodicism of a more morose post-Replacements Paul Westerberg, Stephen Clair and the Pushbacks' Pushback has a restrained fervor. Don't get me wrong, the songs definitely rock. But it's rock in check, a learned and well-studied rocking. It should come as no surprise, since Clair is an instructor at Beacon Music Factory, that there is measure and thoughtfulness to the output contained in this disc's eight tracks. Stephen Clair and the Pushbacks will be at the Towne Crier on May 4, speakin' of Beacon, and at the Linda in Albany on May 11. Having seen the band live a handful of times before hearing this EP, I can safely say that the live incarnations of these tunes are not to be missed. Stephenclair.com.



Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Jacques Roch: Esperanza @ Holland Tunnel Art

Jacques Roch: Esperanza

Saturdays, Sundays. Continues through Feb. 17 — Esperanza features a selection of small format paintings and drawings from several...
Zachary Skinner: Troubled Waters @ bau Gallery

Zachary Skinner: Troubled Waters

Sat., Feb. 9, 6-9 p.m., Sun., Feb. 10, 12-6 p.m., Fri., Feb. 15, 3-8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 16, 12-6 p.m., Sun., Feb. 17, 12-6 p.m., Fri., Feb. 22, 3-8 p.m., Sat., Feb. 23, 12-6 p.m., Sun., Feb. 24, 12-6 p.m., Fri., March 1, 3-8 p.m., Sat., March 2, 12-6 p.m. and Sun., March 3, 12-6 p.m. — The show runs from February 9 to March 3, 2019 and features...

View all of today's events

Trending Arts & Culture

Chronogram on Instagram

@Chronogram

Latest in Arts & Culture