The Arcade Game Polar Bear—Big Bubble Laundromat | Poetry | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

The Arcade Game Polar Bear—Big Bubble Laundromat 

Sure, I was made in China, but I'm white as Arctic ice
& have an appetite for lonely hearts drawn to our orgy
of stuffed animals in the arcade game case by the door,
purple fish with kissy lips & parrots tough as oven mitts.
Countless kiddies have begged quarters off their mommies
for two tries at the joy stick that drops the three-pronged
claw of God into our midst to grab a furry prize, yet almost
always comes back empty. We're not easy like lobsters in
the tank. We're cheap flirts preying on your cuddly desires.
Even you with graying hair, slipping fifty cents in the slots,
don't you see my button eyes bold as lies? I'm not the ghost
of your teddy bear. Real love spreads you thin across the ice.

Tags: ,

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Thursday Night Jazz Jams @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Thursday Night Jazz Jams

Thu., Feb. 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., Feb. 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 7, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 14, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 21, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., March 28, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 4, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 11, 6-7:30 p.m., Thu., April 18, 6-7:30 p.m. and Thu., April 25, 6-7:30 p.m. — Play standards from the Real Book and beyond, refine your improvisation skills,...
Magic Madness @ Windham Civic and Performing Arts Center

Magic Madness

Fri., Feb. 15, 7-8 p.m., Sun., Feb. 17, 2-3 & 7-8 p.m., Mon., Feb. 18, 2-3 p.m., Thu., Feb. 21, 7-8 p.m., Fri., Feb. 22, 7-8 p.m. and Sat., Feb. 23, 7-8 p.m. — Whether you’re a family with children, or a couple on a date...

View all of today's events

Trending Arts & Culture

Chronogram on Instagram

@Chronogram

Latest in Arts & Culture