The Baker's Tale: A New Bakery in Highland | General Arts & Culture | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

The Baker's Tale: A New Bakery in Highland 

The Baker's Tale Recieves a Warm Welcome From Highland

Last Updated: 06/24/2022 10:52 am
click to enlarge bakers_tale_baguette.jpeg

“When I came up with the name ‘The Baker’s Tale,’ it reminded me of a fairytale,” says Kristen Bell of her new bakery in Highland. “So I thought [designing] a cute, French, fairytale bakery would be fun.” The colorful storefront features storybook tones of periwinkle purple and sage green.


Before opening The Baker’s Tale in December, Bell started two other successful business ventures with her mother Alice. Their first was an all natural dog treat business called Bone Appetit Barkery that they launched in 2012. They grew their wholesale business to 64 accounts in just two years before selling the business. Afterwards, the mother-daughter duo opened Mad Batters, a gluten-free bakery in the nearby town of Marlboro, where Bell grew up.

[image-6]

As gluten- intolerant herself, Bell started the Mad Batters because she saw a need for wholesale delicious gluten-free food in the area. As a consumer, she was frustrated with the options. “Everything just tastes like cardboard,” she had told her mother at the time, spurring their first venture in the food industry.


In early 2020, with the influx of COVID and the loss of her mother a few months before, Bell decided to close the cafe portion of Mad Batters and focus on the wholesale aspect. She began looking for property nearby and eventually found a location in Highland. Once the storefront next to Mad Batters became available, Bell thought it was the perfect opportunity to expand her business, and thus The Baker’s Tale was born.

click to enlarge THE BAKER'S TALE
  • The Baker's Tale

While The Baker’s Tale has many gluten-free options for customers (made next door at Mad Batters), there are plenty of options with gluten, including bagels, sourdough bread, croissants, cupcakes, and specialty cakes. Bell says, “The Highland community has been so welcoming and very happy that we’re there.”

Between the two bakeries, there is something for everyone. Bell and her team of five full-time bakers make all of the baked goods daily from scratch. The Baker’s Tale also serves specialty breakfast sandwiches named after locations in the Hudson Valley. Some popular choices are “The Catskill” (a brioche bun with egg whites, choice of cheese, and spinach for $6); the “Hudson Stacker” (a sausage patty, bacon, hash brown patty, choice of cheese, and two eggs on a bagel for $5); and the “Gunk Slammer” (a hash brown patty, choice of cheese, two eggs, on a brioche bun for $5.50).

click to enlarge bakers_tale_bagels.jpeg

As the only bakery in Highland, there is a large demand, and Bell frequently sells out. “We bake throughout the day and we continuously stock, but things sell out so fast,” Bell says. Among many delicious pastries, hand-laminated croissants and apple turnovers seem to be customers favorites. “There is nothing like that in Highland,” Bell says. To avoid disappointment, she recommends customers get there early to get what they’re looking for.


If you miss your favorite baked goods, or you can’t make it to Highland, Mad Batters and The Baker’s Tale products can still be found across the Hudson Valley including at Adams Fairacre Farms and Hannaford locations, Samuel’s Sweet Shop in Rhinebeck, Cheese Louise in Kingston, 2 Alice’s Coffee Lounge in Newburgh, Cafe Mio in Gardiner, and other local businesses.


[image-6]
Location Details The Baker's Tale
Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

 
Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Tue., May 17, 10 a.m., Wed., May 18, 10 a.m., Thu., May 19, 10 a.m., Fri., May 20, 10 a.m., Sat., May 21, 10 a.m., Sun., May 22, 10 a.m., Mon., May 23, 10 a.m., Tue., May 24, 10 a.m., Wed., May 25, 10 a.m., Thu., May 26, 10 a.m., Fri., May 27, 10 a.m., Sat., May 28, 10 a.m., Sun., May 29, 10 a.m., Mon., May 30, 10 a.m., Tue., May 31, 10 a.m., Wed., June 1, 10 a.m., Thu., June 2, 10 a.m., Fri., June 3, 10 a.m., Sat., June 4, 10 a.m., Sun., June 5, 10 a.m., Mon., June 6, 10 a.m., Tue., June 7, 10 a.m., Wed., June 8, 10 a.m., Thu., June 9, 10 a.m., Fri., June 10, 10 a.m., Sat., June 11, 10 a.m., Sun., June 12, 10 a.m., Mon., June 13, 10 a.m., Tue., June 14, 10 a.m., Wed., June 15, 10 a.m., Thu., June 16, 10 a.m., Fri., June 17, 10 a.m., Sat., June 18, 10 a.m., Sun., June 19, 10 a.m., Mon., June 20, 10 a.m., Tue., June 21, 10 a.m., Wed., June 22, 10 a.m., Thu., June 23, 10 a.m., Fri., June 24, 10 a.m., Sat., June 25, 10 a.m., Sun., June 26, 10 a.m., Mon., June 27, 10 a.m., Tue., June 28, 10 a.m., Wed., June 29, 10 a.m., Thu., June 30, 10 a.m., Fri., July 1, 10 a.m., Sat., July 2, 10 a.m., Sun., July 3, 10 a.m., Mon., July 4, 10 a.m., Tue., July 5, 10 a.m., Wed., July 6, 10 a.m., Thu., July 7, 10 a.m., Fri., July 8, 10 a.m., Sat., July 9, 10 a.m., Sun., July 10, 10 a.m., Mon., July 11, 10 a.m., Tue., July 12, 10 a.m., Wed., July 13, 10 a.m., Thu., July 14, 10 a.m., Fri., July 15, 10 a.m., Sat., July 16, 10 a.m., Sun., July 17, 10 a.m., Mon., July 18, 10 a.m., Tue., July 19, 10 a.m., Wed., July 20, 10 a.m., Thu., July 21, 10 a.m., Fri., July 22, 10 a.m., Sat., July 23, 10 a.m., Sun., July 24, 10 a.m., Mon., July 25, 10 a.m., Tue., July 26, 10 a.m., Wed., July 27, 10 a.m., Thu., July 28, 10 a.m., Fri., July 29, 10 a.m., Sat., July 30, 10 a.m., Sun., July 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 13, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 23, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 31, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 1, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 2, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 3, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 11, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 16, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 29, 10 a.m. and Fri., Sept. 30, 10 a.m.
What Do You See? Portraits from the Arkell Museum Collection and New York State Grange Photographs by Andrew Baugnet @ Arkell Museum

What Do You See? Portraits from the Arkell Museum Collection and New York State Grange Photographs by Andrew Baugnet

Tuesdays-Sundays, 10 a.m.-5 p.m. Continues through Aug. 21 — What Do You See? Portraits from the Arkell Museum Collection features visitor...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required