The Voynich Manuscript Deciphered | Mountainview Studios | November 4 | History | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

The Voynich Manuscript Deciphered | Mountainview Studios | November 4 

click to enlarge short-list_voynich3.jpg

The Voynich Manuscript is a mystery, a piquant story of secrecy with rumblings of underground societies that would leave Dan Brown salivating. The cryptic, handwritten codex is in an unknown writing system and probably dates back to the 15th century. Since its donation to the Yale library in 1969, the 240-page document has been pored over by historians and cryptographers. To date, no one has been able to crack the code and the manuscript has gained fame as the elusive "grail" of cryptography. Jim Handlin, the former headmaster of Woodstock Day School, is himself a codebreaker, having discovered an ancient encryption method he calls the Rotas Code, which he speculates was used to hide and protect text. For the last 12 years, he has dedicated himself to using the code to decipher ancient, impenetrable texts. At the first gathering of Woodstock Talks on November 4 at Mountainview Studio in Woodstock, he will present his working translation of the Voynich Manuscript from 5–6:30pm. Mtnviewstudio.com

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Unique Art Doll Exhibit @ Uncanny Gallery

Unique Art Doll Exhibit

Fri., Nov. 24, Sat., Nov. 25, Thu., Nov. 30, Fri., Dec. 1, Sat., Dec. 2, Thu., Dec. 7, Fri., Dec. 8, Sat., Dec. 9, Thu., Dec. 14, Fri., Dec. 15, Sat., Dec. 16, Wed., Dec. 20, Thu., Dec. 21, Fri., Dec. 22, Sat., Dec. 23, Thu., Dec. 28, Fri., Dec. 29 and Sat., Dec. 30 — Eclectic and unique selection of art dolls and figurative sculpture. Unique, whimsical,...

Boscobel Candlelit Holiday Tours

Fri., Nov. 24, 4 p.m., Sat., Nov. 25, 4 p.m., Sat., Dec. 2, 4 p.m., Sun., Dec. 3, 4 p.m., Sat., Dec. 9, 4 p.m. and Sun., Dec. 10, 4 p.m. — With the house decorated for a 19th century Christmas and string musicians...

View all of today's events

Latest in History

  • Plan Your Dutchess 2017 Holiday Getaway Now!
  • Plan Your Dutchess 2017 Holiday Getaway Now!

    From tours of lavishly decorated Great Estates to each town’s tree lighting ceremony, a getaway to Dutchess will put you in a festive mood. From Thanksgiving through New Year’s Eve, enjoy the old-fashioned holiday spirit found in the Hudson Valley
    • Nov 16, 2017
  • The Burning of Kingston 2017
  • The Burning of Kingston 2017

    Three days of reenactments commemorate the Burning of Kingston.
    • Oct 1, 2017
  • The Burning of Kingston
  • The Burning of Kingston

    The Burning of Kingston, hosted October 13, 14 and 15th, is a fun and free weekend-long commemoration with several reenactments of actual historical events of 1777. Also includes a colonial grand ball, cemetary ghost tours, bucket brigade contests, exhibitions, militia and redcoat camp drills and tours, games and more at numerous locations throughout the beautiful city of Kingston New York.
    • Sep 28, 2017
  • More »

More by Chronogram Staff

Hudson Valley Tweets