Try This At Home | Books & Authors | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Try This At Home 

The DIY Art Projects of Open Studio

click to enlarge George Condo in his studio working on Fashion Model, his DIY art project for Open Studio. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • George Condo in his studio working on Fashion Model, his DIY art project for Open Studio.

It's remarkable that the idea for the generous and inviting Open Studio: Do-It-Yourself Art Projects by Contemporary Artists, published in October by Phaidon, was not born out of the pandemic. Describing the book's concept in its introduction, coauthors Amanda Benchley, a freelance filmmaker and journalist, and Sharon Coplan Hurowitz, an independent curator and print publisher, write, "We invited 17 of the most celebrated contemporary artists working today to contribute art projects for you to make at home or wherever you define your creative space. Each chapter takes you into the private realm of the studio and walks you through a project step-by-step with the artist as your guide." Its timing, however, was purely coincidental—Open Studio was five-plus years in the making and completed before COVID-19 drove everyone indoors.

I spoke to the book's photographer, Casey Kelbaugh, who moved up to his house in Lanesville, a hamlet in Hunter, from New York City in early March. "It's bizarre," he notes of the book's timing. "Everyone's at home with their kids, running out of projects to keep them occupied. It landed right when we needed it." Kelbaugh was a natural fit for Open Studio. He'd been shooting portraits of artists and covering the arts beat for the New York Times, ARTnews, Frieze, Artsy, and other publications for over a decade. Despite his experience, the 46-year-old Seattle native was still awestruck by the group of artists who signed on, including Julie Mehretu, Mickalene Thomas, KAWS, William Wegman, Marina Abramovic, John Currin, Maya Lin, George Condo, and Sarah Sze, to name a few. "I can't stress how large they loom in the contemporary art world," says Kelbaugh.

click to enlarge PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
click to enlarge Lawrence Weiner’s Long Division is Sensual, Short Division is Visceral includes a stencil. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Lawrence Weiner’s Long Division is Sensual, Short Division is Visceral includes a stencil.

While some of the artists planned their projects in advance, others came up with them on the spot. "We all flew in for this project and they're like, 'What's going on here? What are we going to do?'" Thomas Demand's contribution, for example, was conceived in the moment, and it ended up being one of Kelbaugh's favorites. "He draws whimsical, totally spontaneous, exquisitely rendered little stories on hard-boiled eggs every morning with Sharpies and colored pencils for his kids, like, 'We're going to grandma's house later, and we are driving there in a shark car—here's a picture of that.' There were lot of fun moments like that, where we just kinda came to it while in the studio sharing the space with them."

Open Studio is endlessly fascinating, and the insights it offers into these artists' processes are illuminating and invaluable. The combination of the studio portraits, the accompanying text, and the projects grants the reader an extraordinarily comprehensive, multilayered snapshot of these brilliant minds. Each chapter is akin to an intimate, one-on-one tutorial with a master. While some of the projects are more challenging than others and require materials that might not be readily found in the house, they are all doable. One could think of worse ways to spend a few hours than collaborating on a work of art with a world-famous artist.

—Dan Fisher

click to enlarge Marina Abramovic’s project, Counting the Rice; comes with an insert to help make the artwork. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Marina Abramovic’s project, Counting the Rice; comes with an insert to help make the artwork.
click to enlarge Julie Mehretu, with a print from a carved potato and sweet potato printing project. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Julie Mehretu, with a print from a carved potato and sweet potato printing project.
click to enlarge Maya Lin in her studio. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Maya Lin in her studio.
click to enlarge Materials for KAWS’s Companion: Infinite Holiday project. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Materials for KAWS’s Companion: Infinite Holiday project.
click to enlarge John Currin in his studio. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • John Currin in his studio.
click to enlarge Mickalene Thomas in her studio with materials from her project Love is a Shape Untitled. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Mickalene Thomas in her studio with materials from her project Love is a Shape Untitled.
click to enlarge Will Cotton in his studio, wearing The Royal Crown of Candyland. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Will Cotton in his studio, wearing The Royal Crown of Candyland.
click to enlarge Materials for making Will Cotton’s The Royal Crown of Candyland. - PHOTO BY CASEY KELBAUGH
  • photo by Casey Kelbaugh
  • Materials for making Will Cotton’s The Royal Crown of Candyland.
Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock @ The Museum at Bethel Woods

The Museum At Bethel Woods: Story of 60s & Woodstock

Tue., May 17, 10 a.m., Wed., May 18, 10 a.m., Thu., May 19, 10 a.m., Fri., May 20, 10 a.m., Sat., May 21, 10 a.m., Sun., May 22, 10 a.m., Mon., May 23, 10 a.m., Tue., May 24, 10 a.m., Wed., May 25, 10 a.m., Thu., May 26, 10 a.m., Fri., May 27, 10 a.m., Sat., May 28, 10 a.m., Sun., May 29, 10 a.m., Mon., May 30, 10 a.m., Tue., May 31, 10 a.m., Wed., June 1, 10 a.m., Thu., June 2, 10 a.m., Fri., June 3, 10 a.m., Sat., June 4, 10 a.m., Sun., June 5, 10 a.m., Mon., June 6, 10 a.m., Tue., June 7, 10 a.m., Wed., June 8, 10 a.m., Thu., June 9, 10 a.m., Fri., June 10, 10 a.m., Sat., June 11, 10 a.m., Sun., June 12, 10 a.m., Mon., June 13, 10 a.m., Tue., June 14, 10 a.m., Wed., June 15, 10 a.m., Thu., June 16, 10 a.m., Fri., June 17, 10 a.m., Sat., June 18, 10 a.m., Sun., June 19, 10 a.m., Mon., June 20, 10 a.m., Tue., June 21, 10 a.m., Wed., June 22, 10 a.m., Thu., June 23, 10 a.m., Fri., June 24, 10 a.m., Sat., June 25, 10 a.m., Sun., June 26, 10 a.m., Mon., June 27, 10 a.m., Tue., June 28, 10 a.m., Wed., June 29, 10 a.m., Thu., June 30, 10 a.m., Fri., July 1, 10 a.m., Sat., July 2, 10 a.m., Sun., July 3, 10 a.m., Mon., July 4, 10 a.m., Tue., July 5, 10 a.m., Wed., July 6, 10 a.m., Thu., July 7, 10 a.m., Fri., July 8, 10 a.m., Sat., July 9, 10 a.m., Sun., July 10, 10 a.m., Mon., July 11, 10 a.m., Tue., July 12, 10 a.m., Wed., July 13, 10 a.m., Thu., July 14, 10 a.m., Fri., July 15, 10 a.m., Sat., July 16, 10 a.m., Sun., July 17, 10 a.m., Mon., July 18, 10 a.m., Tue., July 19, 10 a.m., Wed., July 20, 10 a.m., Thu., July 21, 10 a.m., Fri., July 22, 10 a.m., Sat., July 23, 10 a.m., Sun., July 24, 10 a.m., Mon., July 25, 10 a.m., Tue., July 26, 10 a.m., Wed., July 27, 10 a.m., Thu., July 28, 10 a.m., Fri., July 29, 10 a.m., Sat., July 30, 10 a.m., Sun., July 31, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 1, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 2, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 3, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 4, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 5, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 6, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 7, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 8, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 9, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 10, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 11, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 12, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 13, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 14, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 15, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 16, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 17, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 18, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 19, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 20, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 21, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 22, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 23, 10 a.m., Thu., Aug. 25, 10 a.m., Fri., Aug. 26, 10 a.m., Sat., Aug. 27, 10 a.m., Sun., Aug. 28, 10 a.m., Mon., Aug. 29, 10 a.m., Tue., Aug. 30, 10 a.m., Wed., Aug. 31, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 1, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 2, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 3, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 4, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 5, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 6, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 7, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 8, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 9, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 10, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 11, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 12, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 13, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 14, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 16, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 17, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 18, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 19, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 20, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 21, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 22, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 23, 10 a.m., Sat., Sept. 24, 10 a.m., Sun., Sept. 25, 10 a.m., Mon., Sept. 26, 10 a.m., Tue., Sept. 27, 10 a.m., Wed., Sept. 28, 10 a.m., Thu., Sept. 29, 10 a.m., Fri., Sept. 30, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 1, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 2, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 3, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 4, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 5, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 6, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 7, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 8, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 9, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 10, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 11, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 12, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 13, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 14, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 15, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 16, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 17, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 18, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 19, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 20, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 21, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 22, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 23, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 24, 10 a.m., Tue., Oct. 25, 10 a.m., Wed., Oct. 26, 10 a.m., Thu., Oct. 27, 10 a.m., Fri., Oct. 28, 10 a.m., Sat., Oct. 29, 10 a.m., Sun., Oct. 30, 10 a.m., Mon., Oct. 31, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 1, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 2, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 3, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 4, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 5, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 6, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 7, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 8, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 9, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 10, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 11, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 12, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 13, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 14, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 15, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 16, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 17, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 18, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 19, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 20, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 21, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 22, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 23, 10 a.m., Thu., Nov. 24, 10 a.m., Fri., Nov. 25, 10 a.m., Sat., Nov. 26, 10 a.m., Sun., Nov. 27, 10 a.m., Mon., Nov. 28, 10 a.m., Tue., Nov. 29, 10 a.m., Wed., Nov. 30, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 1, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 2, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 3, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 4, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 5, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 6, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 7, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 8, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 9, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 10, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 11, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 12, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 13, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 14, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 15, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 16, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 17, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 18, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 19, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 20, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 21, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 22, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 23, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 24, 10 a.m., Sun., Dec. 25, 10 a.m., Mon., Dec. 26, 10 a.m., Tue., Dec. 27, 10 a.m., Wed., Dec. 28, 10 a.m., Thu., Dec. 29, 10 a.m., Fri., Dec. 30, 10 a.m., Sat., Dec. 31, 10 a.m. and Sun., Jan. 1, 10 a.m.
The Enchanted Garden: Colors in Motion - Sculptures of Dorothy M. Gillespie @ Rockland Center for the Arts

The Enchanted Garden: Colors in Motion - Sculptures of Dorothy M. Gillespie

Mondays-Saturdays, 8 a.m.-7 p.m. Continues through Oct. 15 — RoCA is proud to present the The Enchanted Garden: Colors in Motion...

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Arts & Culture

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required