Woodstock Byrdcliffe House Tour 2018 | Entertaining | Hudson Valley | Chronogram Magazine
Pin It
Favorite

Woodstock Byrdcliffe House Tour 2018 

Last Updated: 07/19/2018 2:45 pm

click to enlarge sl_byrdcilff_house-300-dpi-img_5461.jpg

In 1974, Robert Haney and David Ballantine put Woodstock architecture on the map with the publication of Woodstock Handmade Houses. This charming book documents the magical and makeshift homes of Aquarian Age homebuilders who sought to upend conformist architecture with their Buckminster Fuller-inspired domes, nomadic yurts, and thatched hobbit cottages straight from Tolkein. (See if you can snag a copy at the 87th annual Woodstock Library Fair on July 28.) While some of these experimental structures still stand—a drive through the woods surrounding the village often yields surprising sights in this regard—Woodstock's architectural vernacular has evolved with its residents into a more mature, elegant style. For 10 years, the Woodstock Byrdcliffe Guild has offered tours of the town's most stylish and spectacular homes, where visitors can sneak a peak at the architecture, gardens, interiors, and art collections of local residents whose homes mirror the tranquility and natural splendor of the Catskills. The self-guided tour takes place on July 14, from 11am to 4pm. A benefit cocktail party follows from 5 to 7pm.  (845) 679-2079.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Park & Gallery Introduction Tour @ Art Omi

Park & Gallery Introduction Tour

Sat., July 2, 1-2 p.m. — Whether you're a first-time or frequent visitor to Art Omi, there's plenty...
Hudson Valley Renegades vs. Brooklyn Cyclones @ Dutchess Stadium

Hudson Valley Renegades vs. Brooklyn Cyclones

Tue., April 19, 7:05 p.m., Wed., April 20, 7:05 p.m., Thu., April 21, 7:05 p.m., Fri., April 22, 7:05 p.m., Sat., April 23, 6:05 p.m., Sun., April 24, 2:05 p.m., Sun., May 15, 2:05 p.m., Tue., June 28, 7:05 p.m., Wed., June 29, 7:05 p.m., Thu., June 30, 7:05 p.m., Fri., July 1, 7:05 p.m., Sat., July 2, 6:05 p.m., Sun., July 3, 6:05 p.m., Tue., July 26, 7:05 p.m., Wed., July 27, 7:05 p.m., Thu., July 28, 7:05 p.m., Fri., July 29, 7:05 p.m., Sat., July 30, 6:05 p.m. and Sun., July 31, 2:05 p.m.

View all of today's events

Chronogram on Instagram

Latest in Lifestyle

It’s high time Chronogram made a newsletter about marijuana. Stay in the know with the latest on dispensary openings, industry news, cultivation tips, and more as we cover the emerging cannabis scene in New York and the Northeast. Welcome to High Society.

Subscribe

* indicates required