Galanos — Deceiver Receiver | Album Review | Music | Hudson Valley | Hudson Valley; Chronogram
Pin It
Favorite

Galanos — Deceiver Receiver | Album Review 

click to enlarge cd-galanos.jpg

Galanos
Deceiver Receiver
(2017, Pyrrhic Victory Records)

"Half punk, half surf, all despair." Without digging too deep into the expanse of darkness and the lust for shadows their crushing pieces yield, this is how Kingston-based foursome Galanos describe themselves. Lead singers Gregory Jaw (who also plays guitar) and Netochka Nezvanova alternate between solo voices on some tunes and a gloomy interwoven mist on others. The opener, "Loneliest of Men," is despairingly savage and reminiscent of the Cramps' punk/gothabilly sound, which in an interview the band bleakly described as thus: "We rotate in a frozen, violent, self-defeating space. The altar is full of self-sacrifice and we destroy ourselves for nothing." "Flashbomb" is shockingly evocative of early Nick Cave, both vocally and musically, and heavily bass-and-drum-driven with a bit of Pixies guitar thrown in. Stay on the lookout for this album, if desolation is your draw.

Pin It
Favorite

Comments

Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Hudson Valley Events

submit event
Shakespeare Meets Zeppelin @ Gallery 40

Shakespeare Meets Zeppelin

March 15-April 20 — Kimberlie is fueled by abstract expressionism and neo dada icons like Pollock...
Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley @ Rhinebeck School of Music

Monday Night Songwriting Meetup with Lisa Markley

Mon., Feb. 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., Feb. 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 4, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 11, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., March 18, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 1, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 8, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., April 15, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 6, 5:45-7 p.m., Mon., May 13, 5:45-7 p.m. and Mon., May 20, 5:45-7 p.m. — 1st and 3rd Mondays: Teen Songwriting Meet-Up, 5:45-7pm, $28 per person 2nd...

View all of today's events

Trending Arts & Culture

Chronogram on Instagram

@Chronogram

Latest in Arts & Culture